I can’t do yoga because……

I like to invite people to come to yoga with me. Believe me, if I have invited you to come to class with me it has been out of love. If we’ve traveled across the country, and I’ve asked you to join me at a studio, it’s because I know you will feel better. If you’re telling me how you want to take better care of yourself, I invite you to join me because I want to offer you a way to achieve your goal.

It’s interesting the range of responses I hear. Some people tell me flat out, “No.” They are not interested, they will not do it, it is not for them. Fair enough. But saying I’m not interested is not the same thing as I can’t do it. I have heard a range of reasons why people believe they cannot do yoga. These include (in no specific order):

1. I am too fat. Fat people don’t do yoga: Everyone of all shapes and sizes does yoga, and everyone of all shapes and sizes does Bikram yoga. I get that people are insecure about their body. Have a talk with anyone at the studio about how uncomfortable they are or have been with their body when practicing. Pick someone at random. We all have our insecurities about our body. Even if you think someone looks great trust me, that person has them too. One of the things Bikram yoga forces us all to do is confront ourselves in the mirror. This is not a pretty thing for anyone. You get to confront all your demons. But, you also start to notice lots of good things too and you get more comfortable in your own skin.

2. I am not flexible. Congrats. You are like the majority of the people who are there. Even those of us who have been coming for awhile still have plenty of things we need to develop in our postures. Yes, we may be more flexible than a beginner or more flexible in some postures than others, but we also had to start from somewhere and build our way up to wherever we are now (and we’re not finished either). Also, remember, no one is watching you except the instructor.

3. I could die. Yeah, if you get lucky. See my response here: https://mybikramyogalife.wordpress.com/2012/02/05/what-if-i-die/

4. I do not have the time. On the surface, I totally understand. When I go to a 9:00 class, I leave my house at 8:15. By the time I have showered and am sitting down to lunch it’s noon. It takes up a good chunk of the day. Could you make time for one class a week? I think if you start slow you’ll rethink how much time you have. I started with one class a week two years ago. Now I’m averaging four days a week between Sept.-May and 4-6 between May-August. How did I get here? One step at a time.

Rather than tell me all the reasons you cannot do yoga, I challenge you to think of all the reasons you can. Here are some I came up with:

I can do yoga because:

1. It will make me healthier.

2. I will feel better about myself.

3. I like challenges.

4. I will live through it and have a fabulous story at the end.

Oh yes. Come to yoga and you will have fabulous stories to tell. I’ll share one soon.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: My Feet Are So Shiny « My Bikram Yoga Life

Leave a Reply

