Vegetarian Progress and Featured Recipe

I’m making progress in my transition to a vegetarian lifestyle during my challenge. My goal for the month of March was:

1. Breakfast & Lunch= 100%

2. Dinner = 50% (at least 15 meals).

I said that for March 1st-7th at least five of my dinners would be vegetarian. I am happy to report that all of my meals for the first week of March were vegetarian. In some respects, this week has been easy. It turns out that vegetarian cooking can be amazing and fun. In other respects, this week has been hard. I really, really want a chicken sandwhich. I almost don’t care where it comes from at this point. I really, really want it for lunch. That’s because I am used to getting chicken sandwhiches for lunch once or twice a week. It’s just a habit. I still want that sandwhich though!

The next few days will prove to be interesting. I have to travel to Winnipeg on Thursday, and I won’t be back until Saturday. Breakfast should be easy enough. I am wondering though about lunch in O’Hare (coming and going). I have time though to track something down. Let’s see how difficult it is to have something that is adequate, for an airport, and also vegetarian. I like to think I keep my standards reasonable.

For dinner I have decided to play it all by ear. I’m ahead of my goal which means that if I have to I can have a meat-based dinner. Note what I said: if I have to. It is my intention to try to eat vegetarian while I am away for all my meals. BUT, if that proves to be impossible or I am faced with trying to choke down something I don’t like then I’m going for the meat. I’m ok with that.

In an effort to keep my vegetarian self on track, I have already planned out my dinner menu for next week when I return. All I have to do is come home and go to the grocery store. I’ve got everything figured out except the dreaded Wednesday when I am gone from home all day and have to eat lunch and dinner on the run. I figure I can bring some frozen pasta with me for lunch. I may make a wrap to have for dinner. Since this week is a little crazy I have no specific dinner goals. I’m doing what I can but making eating vegetarian a priority.

Before I sign off, I’d like to leave you all with a delicious vegetarian recipe I came across. It’s Black Bean Patties with Corn Relish and Avocado Cream Sauce. You can find it here:

I was skeptical but interested in making it. I have never had a decent black bean patty in my life. However, these were so amazing. Here’s how mine turned out:

This is a great meal to make on a weekend. It took me about 30-45 minutes to make the bean patty mixtures along with the avocado cream sauce. Both can be stored in the fridge until you are ready to make the patties. Both will also keep just fine until the next day. We had this two nights in a row.I simplified the corn relish by using frozen corn and a can of rotel. This was easy to make and so delicious.

While there are definitely some challenges to going vegetarian, I am enjoying the process. I am getting to try new things with cooking which I love.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 18, 2014 @ 13:53:00

    Vegetarian Progress and… #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag


Leave a Reply

