Vegetarian Check-In and Featured Recipe:Potato Curry

You know what I like about this whole going vegetarian thing? It is really pushing me to try new things in my cooking. When I first started trying to incorporate vegetarian meals into my dinners, the first thing I went to was pasta because pasta is easy. But I quickly figured out I didn’t want to be eating pasta for dinner all the time so I had to go looking elsewhere. That’s lead to a whole bunch of interesting meals I would have never imagined existed, and I hope you enjoy hearing about a favorite one each week.

Right now, I have passed my goal of having 15 vegetarian dinners for the month of March. As of today, I have had 18 dinners as a vegetarian. Tonight’s meal (and Friday’s) are planned as vegetarian so I expect to have 20 by the time Saturday comes. Although I have hit my mark I am not dropping the ball and starting to eat meat-based dinners for the rest of the month (although I do have plans for a couple). I am still making vegetarian eating a priority. Now I am just excited to see how many of my dinners I can end up with as being vegetarian this month!

The featured recipe for this week is potato curry. Mark found this and made it. I have to warn you though, when you take on trying to cook a bunch of things you have never cooked before sometimes your meals don’t go so well. It’s just going to happen. This was the case with the fabulous potato curry last Friday night.

I came back from yoga around 6:30, and I could smell dinner before I even got out of my car. When I got in the house my throat felt like it was going to burn up. Mark had burned something, and it was smoking up the kitchen badly. He tried to save it, but declared it to be terrible and tossed it out. This is how we ended up having a large cheese pizza for dinner from Big Cheese Pizza (hey – still vegetarian!).  I ate 3/4 of the pizza. I was having one of those moments after yoga where I can just eat, and eat, and eat. Ever get those? I think I impressed Mark with all my eating that night. I was seriously hungry!

The next night Mark tried it again. We both really wanted this dish to work, and this time it paid off. Here’s what we got:

I cannot say enough about how delicious this meal was. It also saved well as a leftover which we had on Monday.  It’s going to become a regular fixture at our house. Of course, since Mark has mastered it that means he just got put in charge of making it all the time. I don’t think he’ll mind though.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leonard Marks
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 16:11:27

    great post

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Retro Throwback: Potato Curry | My Bikram Yoga Life

Leave a Reply

