60 Day Challenge and Other Things

In less than two weeks I start my 60 day Bikram yoga challenge! I am super-excited. I cannot wait to see what those 60 days bring me. Also, I will blog every day of my challenge.

 To gear up for my challenge, I have been practicing as much as possible. I think I’m averaging five days a week. This week I’m going six times. What’s interesting about this is that back in January, when the semester started, I told myself I could only manage three days a week (Saturday, Sunday, and one weekday). Sometimes my schedule allowed for four, but not often.

Once I committed to doing the challenge, I decided I need to go as often as possible. I decided if I went more, my body would get more adjusted to going more frequently. Of course, the more you go the more you get. So this means that I’ll benefit even more from the challenge because I’m that much farther along in my practice when I started. What’s also interesting is that going five days a week (or six!) has not had a negative impact on my work. I thought I could only manage three days a week during the semester, but I figured out how to be flexible with my yoga/work schedule, and it has turned out great. Of course, we don’t have any kids which leaves me free to work/go to yoga as I want for the most part.

Anyways, for the rest of this post I want to share with you the three postures that I suddenly noticed improvements in. Going to yoga all this time has had an incredible impact on my body (and my mind – but I’ll write about that later).

Up first: Triangle. Unfortunately, my triangle seems to be improving. This means I will have to start holding it for longer amounts of time because I can. That sucks. Seriously, the other day I held it for the entire time on the right side. When we came out, the instructor told the woman next to me that she had done a great triangle. Maybe. But I held mine the entire time! Where’s my cookie? 🙂 My left side still sucks.

Second: Balancing Stick. Ever since my instructor taught me to really squeeze my arms with my ears this posture has improved tremendously. Of course, now that I can do it better it knocks the wind out of me every time. It’s about a zillion times better.

Third: Standing Bow. Now, this one can be hit or miss but overall it’s really improving on both sides. I can kick higher on both sides (you’d notice the height more on the left than on the right, but technically the right side is getting higher too). I like standing bow so this is fun. Today my body actually went parellel to the floor on both sides for both sets! Now I am getting what this posture is supposed to look like.

As a random bonus – Full Locust. This just came out of nowhere this week. I actually lifted my chest up off the floor and did everything well enough to garner several compliments.  It was one of those things that just happened, and I don’t know how or why.

Notice I still cannot get my forehead to my knee in standing forehead to knee. I feel like I have been stuck in the same spot for a year. That’s not totally true. When I kick out on my left side I can stay balanced longer, and I am starting to be able to bend my elbows down in the direction of my calves. My hamstrings are stupidly tight!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bitchingaboutbikram
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 11:40:25

    “Unfortunately, my triangle seems to be improving. This means I will have to start holding it for longer amounts of time because I can. That sucks. ”

    YES! I totally know where you’re coming from… I feel that way about almost ALL the poses.

    Also, I admire the fact that you’re planning a challenge. Knowing I was preparing for one would likely scare me away. GO YOU!

    Reply

  2. Yoga Insurance
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 02:26:46

    You have the courage and abiliy to handle your self and that is that thing which is causing you to work out with your body and you addopted the parctice of Yoga that is amazing 🙂 I am waitig for read your next posts:

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 18:09:08

    60 Day Challenge and Other Things http://t.co/oXh5Tn2T2z #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

