One Week Until the Challenge!

My 60 day challenge starts one week from today. I am excited. I am trying not to imagine what the challenge will be like. For example, I’m trying not to think it will be easy or fun or hard or anything. I’m just trying my best to let it be whatever it will be. I’m trying to go to each class with the mindset that each class will be whatever it will be. If one class is great, then it was great! That has no bearing on the next class. If one class was sit on the floor and want to cry awful, then that has no bearing on the next class.

I assume of course there will be days I love and days I hate and days I don’t even want to go. I know those days will come because that’s part of the practice. You gotta take it as it comes. I also assume that I can’t really know what I’m going to experience. While practicing 4-6 days a week has certainly helped me get a flavor for practicing more, the 60 day challenge will likely be in a category all by itself. I know some basic things to expect, but I assume I don’t even know the half of it.

I practiced today, and will practice Saturday-Monday. Then I am traveling on Tuesday. I fly to Chicago and back on the same day. I get in late – like midnight – so I don’t know if I will practice on Wednesday or not. Given my schedule, I can only do to the 9:00 am class.  I won’t be able to swing Thursday. I am thinking a three day break before my 60 day challenge could be nice.

Also, last night I went out to dinner with a great group of people. Someone who knew about my challenge asked me if I was vegetarian yet (strange question, I know), and I said it really started May 4th. I explained to another person what was going on. She wanted to know what I would be eating on May 3rd. Would I be stuffing my face with bacon? I paused and said I would be having fried rice with peppers and onions that night. I knew this because I had just planned my dinner menu for the week, and I really wanted to try a rice dish out. I have no plans to eat meat this week, but I am giving myself permission to eat it if necessary on my all day travel day to Chicago.

I thought, much like the person who asked, that I would be stuffing myself with hamburgers and chicken wings and bacon right about now. But I don’t is it. Yes, I do love a good hamburger. I love a good hamburger with bacon and blue cheese to be exact. But I am not craving it. I do not feel deprived. I feel great! I have consumed meat exactly twice this month, and in one case it was totally worth it. As I head into my 60 day yoga/vegetarian challenge I feel very confident, and I am not worried about missing out on anything when I sit down to eat.

Namaste.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mark
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 15:41:13

    I wish you all the best as you begin your challenge. I took up Bikram in 2009… after about 15 classes my sweetie signed us up for a 60 day…. then we did another about three weeks after completing the first one. Truly opened my eyes as to what I ate, drank, and made me realize how badly I felt beforehand. Hope it goes well!

    Namaste.

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 16:08:15

    Thanks Mark! I know what you mean about opening your eyes about what goes into your body. I suspect I will learn a lot more about that as I move through the challenge. I am excited to see what it brings. Thanks for the support.

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 11:36:48

    One Week Until the Challenge! http://t.co/kxYdmhWvDZ #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

