A Yoga Class a Day Keeps the Cooties Away

Last Friday night I thought I might be getting a sore throat. I got up on Saturday, felt fine, and went to yoga. Every day since then I have felt on the tipping point of coming down with something, but I had been going to class and nothing icky was showing up. I figured how could any germs survive in that Bikram environment? Maybe I had been at the door of a cold, but Bikram kicked it’s little butt out.

Enter Tuesday.

On Tuesday I had to miss class. No choice. Had to travel for work.

Tuesday night I woke up with a raging sore throat. Dang it! I knew the second I missed a class I’d end up sick. I knew something was trying to break into my system. I figured I would crawl into class on Wednesday or crawl over to acupuncture.

In reality I didn’t do either of those things.

First, I am on day two of a three day break from yoga. I’ve got a 60 day challenge starting on Friday and thought these three days off to do other things would be nice. But you know what? I’m not staying sick for as long as I used to. My sore throat was almost gone by 9:00 am. It’s still hanging around, but it’s barely noticeable. I am tired. I moved around a lot this morning and ended up requiring a nap this afternoon. But, that was only for an hour. When I am sick I can easily take 2 hour naps.

I am going to blame the yoga because I do it all the time now. I think all this yoga (and maybe the fact that my diet is a lot better) is really making me stronger in ways I don’t even know. I’ve got a bug of some sort. Yoga isn’t perfect. It’s not going to make me immune to everything all my life. But I bet I am almost 100% normal when I wake up tomorrow, and that would be so awesome.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kerryalina
    May 02, 2012 @ 18:29:54

    I’ve totally found this too. I was always one of those people who had a low-grade cold ALL THE TIME. And a bloody awful, I’m-going-to-die, I-need-chicken-soup-and-blankies cold at least half a dozen times a year. Since I started Bikram a year ago, I think I’ve been sick… twice? And pretty mildly, too. Other times, I feel the tell-tale tickle in the back of my throat, my glands start to swell… and then I go to class. The next day I feel fine. It’s the bizarrest thing ever, but it’s also kind of awesome 🙂

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 07:18:38

    A Yoga Class a Day Keeps… http://t.co/2FEZ1xenDx #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

