Featured Vegetarian Recipe: Apple Pear Gorgonzola Salad

I am less than 24 hours away from my 60 day yoga/vegetarian challenge. During the month of April, I surpassed my goal of having 20 meals as a vegetarian hitting 28/30. I am not concerned about going vegetarian for 60 days straight. I am slightly annoyed that I will be starting my challenge with some kind of cold/virus. While I am bouncing back quickly, you just know crap is going to go down in the hot room tomorrow morning. On the plus side, I imagine I will be 100% back to normal by 11:00 tomorrow. Gees, and I thought Day 1 would be an average class with nothing special to report. 🙂

As I enter the challenge, I think I should say that it’s really a 66 day challenge. I’m starting May 4th, and I’m ending July 8th. I go on vacation July 9th. It seemed silly to stop at day 60. If I’m in town, I might as well keep going. I’ll be blogging every day to document what happens for those 66 marvelous days.

This week, I found myself traveling again. This time I was back in Chicago. I actually left the airport this time. I flew in and out of Midway, and I was a bit nervous about having dinner there on my return flight.  Eating vegetarian in Chicago was not a problem. However, I had a salad so when I got back to the airport I wanted something besides a salad. For the record, Midway has some good options for salads if you should find yourself there in the future.

I had given myself permission to eat meat, and I was on the look out for a hamburger. If I could find a place that made terrific hamburgers I was signing myself up for one end of story. I did find several places – restaurants – that served burgers, but the burgers were so large! I do not need to eat a 10 ounce burger. So I ended up at PotBelly Sandwich Shop having a fantastic grilled cheese sandwich with onions and pickles for almost next to nothing (as far as airport food prices are concerned.

That aside, let’s move on to the featured vegetarian recipe of the week: Apple Pear Gorgonzola Salad. How long does it take you to slice an apple and a pear? That’s about how long it will take you to make this salad. It’s a great choice when you don’t have a lot of time to make dinner but want something fresh. We found that while it doesn’t hold up too well as a left-0ver, if you mix some fresh lettuce in the next day it will do fine. I substituted walnuts for pecans (I’m not a big pecan fan), and we only used half an apple and half a pear for two of us. We’d definitely make this one again.

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Holy Food | Religious Food | Spiritual Food
    May 04, 2012 @ 13:28:34

    I really love to read articles that have good information and ideas about salad and share to each reader. I found a lot here and hope to

    read more from you. Thank you very much for sharing this information.

    Reply

  2. Adipex 37.5
    Jan 29, 2014 @ 23:49:48

    I’ve been stuck at the same weight for several weeks now and I am going to try mixing things up by upping my calories slightly and joining a fitness center this week. My diet has been very inconsistent for the last 14 days, and so I was very relieved when I weighed myself today and I WAS FINALLY DOWN!

    Reply

    • mybikramyogalife@gmail.com
      Jan 30, 2014 @ 08:30:01

      I know that feeling! I also find my body wants to retain weight more in the winter and shed it faster in the summer. I hope you find some recipes on here that work for you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

