Day 5: It’s all Wheat Berries and Green Juice

I’m only five days in. Not a big deal. Before my challenge started I was doing 4-6 days a week for the last two months. I figured doing so would get me better acclimated to the heat and get used to going more often. So far so good. Right now, day five isn’t anything special. I’ve gone as many as seven days in a row. When I cross over day 7 I’ll be in uncharted territory. It’ll be here soon enough (Friday!).

For the moment I am finding myself obsessed with what I eat. Not in a crazy way. I’m really mindful of what I am putting into my body and how it might effect me in the hot room. At breakfast right now I am enjoying a small bowl of wheat berries. The awesome thing about wheat berries is I can make all I need for the week at once and store them in the fridge. They take about 30 seconds to heat up in the morning. BUT, and this is important, you cannot eat them straight up. They are fine straight up, but if you really want to enhance your wheat berry experience you’ve got to add hot sauce – specifically 1849 Campfire Hot Sauce.  Vinegar – and champagne vinegar particularly – also work to enhance them (just a splash).

Wheat berries taste like nothing to me and yet my body loves them. I became addicted to them after we attended the Triangle Vegetarian Society’s annual vegan Thanksgiving last year. You can get them in the grocery store. My grocer has them in the section with the rice. Oddly enough, I have not been able to locate them at Whole Foods. They are probably there though.

In addition to having a wheat berry/hot sauce addiction, I am trying to start a juicing habit. We have a very nice juicer that we bought about a year ago. I have not been very adventerous with my juicing. Mostly I do citrus fruit. I’ll do a combination of an orange, half a large grapefruit, and one-two lemons. I do like things tart. I have no problem simply eating a lemon straight. That’s a good snack as far as I’m concerned (both the juice and just eating a lemon!).

The problem is I cannot seem to develop a good juicing habit. A month ago, I decided to try it every morning for breakfast. I can have a glass of citrus juice as my breakfast, and all works well until lunch. However, I cannot have citrus juice for breakfast and then follow up with a morning yoga class. I crash out because I’ve not injested any carbs or complex sugars. I have tried to have my juice in the afternoon, but I sometimes get distracted or I’m not home to make it.

Enter the green juice. With green juice I should be able to have it for breakfast and take a morning yoga class. However, I have heard rumors that green juice is an acquired taste. I bought a book on green juicing last night that basically confirmed this. The health benefits, and the potential it has to enhance my practice, still makes me want to give it a try. I need to read it a bit more closely, but I do believe I am headed down the green juice path. Maybe that will be on tap for to try in the next week or so.

Anybody out there have experience with green juice that they’d care to share? I would love to hear about it!

Note: I link to a lot of things in this post, and some of those items are products you can purchase. I get nothing out of sharing these links with you. I share only items that I think are worth sharing and that you may find beneficial. I get no money from this blog.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. loribruner
    May 08, 2012 @ 13:01:28

    You need to sign an endorsement deal for this blog!!! 🙂 I’m sorry I don’t have any experience with juicing – though I could probably find about 100 people from my yoga studio that do! Personally, it makes me think of V8…which makes me cringe. But I’ll be reading with interest…(and what the heck is a wheat berry?!?!)

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    May 08, 2012 @ 15:42:46

    Lori, I have wheat berries hot linked in my post. You can click on it to learn more. They are really good for you nutrition wise.

    Reply

  3. Lisa Jones
    May 09, 2012 @ 06:46:32

    Yay! I love this post! Wheat berries and green juice are two of my obsessions right now!

    My Whole Foods has wheat berries in the bulk section, so maybe check there. They have several kinds but I like the hard red winter berries.

    Juicing is amazing – I have several posts on it on my blog. This link – http://wp.me/p1EGAp-8h has the recipe for my favorite juice. And really, it’s not an acquired taste if you throw a little fruit in there – apple or pineapple are my top choices. That way, the fruit taste is all you get. It never looks that appetizing but it tastes great and feels nice and smooth. The Super Greens at WF with the other packaged lettuces is a really nice mix of greens to throw in. I think it’s kale, chard and spinach.

    I’m excited to know how your good food adventure goes! Namaste.

    Reply

  4. leighahall
    May 09, 2012 @ 06:57:55

    Thanks Lisa! I will check out your recipe.

    Reply

  5. Telefonsex mit Cam
    Jun 04, 2016 @ 08:21:43

    Right here is the right blog for anyone who wishes to understand this
    topic. You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I really
    will need to…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin on a
    topic that has been written about for many years. Excellent stuff, just excellent!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

