Day 8: It’s Only Day 8????

Yesterday afternoon I hit a wall at about 12:30. I really wanted a nap, but I really needed to get work done. I pushed through, and by 4:00 I was feeling more alert. That was short-lived. By 6:30 I was ready to go to bed. So I licked the icing off the top of two cupcakes. I did not eat the cupcakes. My body totally loved the sugar high. I have no regrets.

I got up this morning, Day 8, and it took me 20 minutes to get out of bed. I felt run over. I didn’t feel like I needed more sleep, but my dog had the right idea with her suggestion to snuggle and not move. Eventually I made it into the kitchen where I put some wheat berries in a bowl, covered them with hot sauce, and started to eat them cold. They are fine to eat cold, but I like to warm them up a bit. This is the first time in my six months of wheat berry eating that I just forgot to microwave them. I think my brain may already be warped. It’s only Day 8. It’s too soon.

I left the house five minutes early so I could secure a spot under a fan. I didn’t care if the fans were off the entire class. I knew they’d be turned on at least during the first and last savassanah. That would bring some relief.

Class started with the pranayama breathing, and I didn’t want to do it. Then we moved into half-moon where I discovered my abs hurt. But, after finishing the first round of hands-to-feet and moving back into the second set of half moon I recognized I felt a little better. When we hit party-time I was feeling a lot better. The rest of the standing series I felt better with small dips into feeling worse. I paced myself. I focused on my breath. I learned I would live to see Day 9 (is that good or bad? I no longer know). The floor series went well.

By the end of class my head was on a lot straighter. My mind was much clearer. I had more energy when I left class than when I entered. So here I am – Day 8 and headed straight on into uncharted waters. I’ve never done more than seven days in a row. The ride has begun.

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    May 11, 2012 @ 13:02:21

    U go girl! I’ve never even done a 30 day challenge so I’m following you religiously! I’m doing five day weeks, no weekends, for 18 months now and I’m looking at what happens with you when those weekend breaks are gone! Hang in! I’m riding along!!!

    Reply

  2. bitchingaboutbikram
    May 11, 2012 @ 17:51:51

    I’m doing the “wave” over here for you!!! Woooo!

    Reply

  3. leighahall
    May 11, 2012 @ 19:08:44

    Thanks! I’m not feeling so bad tonight. Let’s see what tomorrow brings. This is an adventure for sure.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Things Get Strange on Day 8 « My Bikram Yoga Life
  5. Trackback: A Different Kind of Challenge | My Bikram Yoga Life

Leave a Reply

