Day 13: Riding the Bikram Rollercoaster

Day 13 started off fabulous. I blew through the warm up series. I was strong, I was on, and I was ready to rock and roll! I held Eagle a lot longer than is normal for me. My half-moons looked great. I had fantastic form! My backbends in the warm up were good (for me). In the second set I could tell I was going back farther (again, for me).

We moved on to standing forehead to knee. I kicked out on my right side and held it for more than a second. I was amazed! Usually I can’t get my right leg to kick out. My hamstrings are just too tight. When I do, I can’t hold it. Today I held it until my leg started shaking, and I fell over (about five seconds is my guess).

So I’m bumping right along noticing how my postures really are improving, and it is a wonderful feeling. Even small steps of progress in a posture are enough to make me happy and keep me motivated. I was excited to see what the next posture would bring, I was actually having fun, and I was pushing myself in good ways.

And then we got to tree pose and I started to die a slow death.

I can speculate on why I stared crashing, but I don’t really know. I don’t think it matters. It had nothing to do with diet or hydration or sleep. No, I don’t think I over did it in the standing series. It just happened. Really, if I’m going to go to class 66 days in a row shouldn’t it be expected that some classes will go like this?  I’ll just ride the rollercoaster and see where it takes me.

I was really losing it by the last four postures. I managed a bit of camel and rabbit. But the last two? Nope. I set them up and then just breathed. The instructor came over to check on me. After class she said she had noticed my eyes glazing over.

Oh, and after class. Let me tell you about that. Remember how I’ve been saying I have so much energy after class that I just fly down the hall and out the door so very, very happy? Well today it was more like the zombie shuffle. I am not sure how I even found my way down the hall and into the lobby (and there’s only one way to the lobby). I’m sure if anyone had tried to talk to me I would have muttered back them in a way that even sounded like a zombie.  Then I had to sit on the bench and ponder how I would make it to my car to get my delicious coke.

But, whatever. I am still happy with class. I hung in there. I did not give up on myself. Tomorrow is Day 14. I’ll strap into the Bikram rollercoaster and see if it’s a straight ride or has lots of loops and turns. That’s the great thing about it. It’s the same postures but it is never the same class.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LSRogers
    May 16, 2012 @ 17:24:02

    The same thing happened to me during a 30 day challenge! It is normal, so I was told. My teacher also said, “Some days you feel like a rockstar and some days you feel like a rock.” I swear, sometimes I feel like both in! Keep it up, your are doing awesome and I enjoy reading about it.

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    May 16, 2012 @ 18:29:46

    That is a really good way to understand the challenge. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

