Day 14: Ah…..Sugar

I’ve noticed a pattern. About every seven days I crash out a bit and desire sugar. Last week, I felt tired on the 7th day. That’s the day when I licked the icing off of two cupcakes. Six days later (Wednesday/Day 13), I hit a wall again. As the day went on I developed a headache and felt more and more tired. That evening I downed a very large piece of chocolate cake. It tasted sooooo good. I told Mark he might come home one day and find me on the floor eating straight out of the sugar bowl. When I get like this I don’t care where the sugar comes from. Ideally it will be delivered to me in a frosting format.

Despite the cake, I had a raging headache from 4:00 until I went to bed (9:30). I passed out immediately and slept soundly until 7:00 when I woke up for Day 14. I got out of bed ok. I wasn’t sore. I also wasn’t excited about going to class today. Of course I went.

I do want to comment about this lack of soreness. I don’t know if it’s because I’m going everyday now or what. When I was practicing 4-6 days a week my hamstrings would be regularly sore. I wouldn’t always notice it in daily activities, but when I got into the hot room I would notice it in certain poses. They would be tight, sore and not happy about doing anything. I do take a nightly bath in epsom salts, but I was doing that before. I don’t know why I am not having the tightness and soreness. Like my awesome cobra, I will not question it. I will simply accept it.

Class today was hilarious for lack of a better word. First, I hung out in the hall before class talking to people who have done challenges before. We discussed my sugar/frosting issue. It was suggested I buy a tub of frosting to have on hand for frosting emergencies. This may have been said as a joke, but I am taking it under serious consideration.

Today everyone wanted a fan, and we were all perfectly happy to jam ourselves together in a line down the middle of the room to get one. A few people ventured into the front row and into the hot side of the room (no fan land),  but most of us just packed ourselves in together for some air. It was fun and funny!

In the middle of class I decided I wanted a bowl of wheat berries and a banana for lunch. I was craving this very deeply. Since I didn’t have wheat berries for breakfast today, I am ok with this idea. So I am off to enjoy a nice bowl of them (with hot sauce!).

This weekend I will adventure into the land of green juice. Can’t wait.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bitchingaboutbikram
    May 17, 2012 @ 11:49:35

    Frosting. Emergencies.

    I love it!

    Reply

  2. Kat
    May 17, 2012 @ 19:30:43

    All I craved at teacher training was sugar, in any form, all the time. I don’t know if it was because I was tired/fatigued and my body was asking for an energy boost. Sugar was the easiest thing to grab. It wasn’t good though, I was constantly riding the highs & lows & my practice suffered. But I hear ya, when you need sugar you just have to have it!!

    Reply

  3. leighahall
    May 17, 2012 @ 20:59:16

    I think it’s awesome that frosting emergencies have become a reality in my life! Kat, it’s good to know that other people craved sugar. I know it’s not the best idea, but my body wants it soooo bad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

