Day 15: My Brain Gets in the Way

Again, I was not in the mood for class today. The room was HOT. I set up my mat and began wandering around. I wandered into the lobby. I hung out in the hallway. I washed my hands. I did all I could to stay out of the room.

Class started, and I just didn’t care. I was just going with it. I wasn’t fighting it. I wasn’t grumbling about it. My whole attitude was basically, “I’m here. Whatever.”

And I had a great class. Maybe one of my best ever.

See, when I didn’t think too much about anything my body started doing things like:

1. I had great form in hands to feet.

2. My sit-ups got magically better. When I realized this and started thinking about it, they got worse. I turned my brain off. They got better.

3. Cobra was still awesome.

4. In first set of camel I realized I could see the wall behind me. Not a little bit of the wall, but a giant section of it. In second set I went all the way back. I held it the entire time. It was not a problem to hold it.

5. Head to knee with stretching pose is getting really, really good. In the first two parts I am almost always able to keep my knees locked out. I am going farther in the third part. I am getting closer to my toes,  but my legs often start to cramp up forcing me out early.

Do you know what happens when you stop thinking in class? You listen better. You hear more. You are more aware of your body and where it can go. I had a strong class throughout. Each posture was like a little gift. My brain hardly wandered at all, and when it did it was easy to shut it down and refocus. I am so thankful for having this class today. Now I must go and take a nap.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 19, 2014 @ 19:43:35

    Day 15: My Brain Gets in the Way http://t.co/ZUR6IiIUqr #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

