Day 19: Don’t Mind Me. I’m Only Dying

Oh Day 19. Can I really be sure the room temperature was a perfect 105 with 40% humidity? That’s what the instructor said. But why did it feel more like 115 in there? My mat looked like a swimming pool, but with none of the benefits of being in an actual pool. By the time we got to the last three postures I was phoning it in. I felt like I was dying a slow, slow death. Which is why I did not die in class. I was dying so slowly, and we ran out of time. However, if I had more time in that room I am confident I could have died.

Then the best part came (this is sarcasm). I got to stay after the class ‘o death to do backbends in the hot room. Yippppeee!!!! But first, I left the room, got some air, and put a little bit of water in my empty bottle. Then I trudged back in to see what I could accomplish with the backbends.

The directions were to simply do as many backbends as I felt I could do. Well, I didn’t feel like I could do any, but I knew I had better do at least one. I did the first one, came out of it, and about blacked out. So I sat down. Up for round two. I didn’t make it back all the way before I got dizzy. So I came out and sat back down.

Eventually I managed to do three backbends (not counting the one where I came out almost as soon as I went in).  I had to sit down and breathe between each one. I felt so dizzy. And you should know, that these were not backbends that went down to the floor or anything. I don’t even get halfway to the floor. But that doesn’t matter. Because I have to start somewhere, and this is where I am.

I still have to do six sets of camel between now and the time I go to bed (homework). Tomorrow I will do four backbends after class. Just a little more each day…..just push a tiny more….eventually it will come.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bitchingaboutbikram
    May 22, 2012 @ 16:40:44

    I kinda like the idea of doing some backbends after class. When you’re doing them against the wall, how far are your heels from the wall do you think? How much “space” do you need in order to walk your hands down?

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    May 22, 2012 @ 17:48:25

    I’m not sure how far away my heels are from the wall. We played with this a bit on Monday when I learned how to do it. I think you can try it out and see what you feel comfortable with. I’m probably a full step away from the wall. My feet are hip-width apart like the first part of awkward. You don’t need a lot of space. Some people do the back bends before class. I asked about this. My instructor said that it makes her tired to do them before class. Plus you are good and warmed-up after class. Despite all my dizziness, it did feel good to do them. Then I did the camels about six hours later and those felt really good. Just make sure to focus your eyes on one thing as you are going back. If your eyes start to dart around that can make you dizzy. Let me know if you try it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

