Day 26: Naked Back Bends

Hey everybody, do you know what time it is?

That’s right! It’s camel time.

What, you don’t do a cheer for camel at your studio?

So, about a month ago one of the guys at my studio completed a 100 day challenge. Only he did 102 days. He probably would have kept going, but he had to go out of town on day 103. Somewhere around Day 100, he got asked in class what his favorite posture had become during his challenge. He said camel.

There is this rumor that when you do a challenge camel will be your favorite posture by the end. Ok, I thought, bring it on. I hate camel. I hate it as much as I hate triangle. That’s a lot of hate to overcome.

I did not try to love camel. A lot of the time I didn’t even do both sets. I did sit up and look at myself in the mirror while everyone else did it. Let me tell everyone who did camel while I sat there, y’all looked fabulous.

But then I got assigned camels for homework. And then I started doing back bends after class. And even though I don’t spend all day and all night doing camels and back bends, something started to happen. I started to get better at camel. It become a bit more enjoyable. Today, I realized something as I was going all the way back in camel the second time, holy crap. I think I might be loving camel.

Did you catch that? I went all the way back in camel for first and second set.

That is so not me. But wait, it gets even stranger.

This afternoon I went to the spa for a massage and a facial. The massage was short, just 30 minutes, and I used it to help relieve the stiffness in my shoulders and lower back (from all these stupid back bends). It felt amazing. Here’s where it gets strange.

When the massage was over (and I was in the room by myself), I jumped off the table and did a back bend. I did the one you do after half-moon. And I went way back too. I could see waaayyyy down the wall. I didn’t even give it a second thought. I just wanted to see how much better my back was. It was super awesome. I was also super naked.

That’s right. I am now doing naked back bends. Maybe you don’t want to picture that, but I assure you the guy that works at Rite Aid claims I look amazing.

Even more strange is that I celebrated my back bend in the room, did a second one, and then put on my robe.

I have so drunk the kool-aid.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bitchingaboutbikram
    May 29, 2012 @ 22:44:47

    OMG! I’ve had a few massages since starting Bikram and I *always* do half moon naked afterwards. Hee! It feels SO good.

    Also, I’ve been doing backbends at home against the wall. I haven’t had the guts to make it all the way down the wall yet, but I make it a little past halfway.

    I heart backbends.

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    May 30, 2012 @ 06:02:35

    It is so nice to know I’m not the only one one doing postures after a massage.

    You’re doing great on the backbends! I am too scared to go halfway. I am starting to heart backbends. Try a couple right after class. You’ll be amazed at how good it feels.

    Reply

  3. Mark
    May 31, 2012 @ 15:12:37

    Camel was always the one posture I was scared of. I would never put my arms down and grab my heels. One day during my first challenge, the instructor said, “You’re ready.” She helped me place each of my hands on my heels and asked me to push forward. It was frightening and liberating at the same time! That was three years ago.
    Fast forward to two weeks ago. I haven’t been able to practice Bikram for six months and I was dying to try ANY form of yoga. I went to a nearby Baptiste studio and took a class. The BEST part of the class for me was that of all the postures we did, Camel was by far my best !!
    I love Camel pose.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Retro Throwback: Doing Naked Backbends | My Bikram Yoga Life

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,068 other followers

