Day 29: Thoughts on Being Vegetarian

As I approach day 30 of my challenge (my official halfway mark is day 33), I want to stop and reflect on what it’s been like to be a vegetarian for the first 29 days of it. Some thoughts:

1. Except for the 2-3 times I have craved chicken, it’s been easy. I don’t miss the meat at all.

2. I feel fantastic. I’m sure this is a combination of many things including the yoga and my diet.

3. I feel so good, that I have no plans to go back to eating meat the way I did before. I think I will eat it after the challenge, but I suspect it’ll only be about a handful of times or less a month.

4. I have really stretched my cooking skills! When the challenge started, I stopped posting a vegetarian recipe of the week. I want to get back to that when the challenge ends for sure. I have learned how to make amazing vegetarian dishes that I likely would not have had I not pushed myself into vegetarian eating.

5. Eating out as a vegetarian has been interesting. When I pick the place, I pick somewhere that I think will have yummy options. However, sometimes I end up at places that others have selected. I have been to places that, besides getting a salad, there are 1-2 vegetarian options on the menu. In some cases, I have been astounded by the number of salads on a menu that have meat in them. I was somewhere once where if there were 8 salads, six were meat-based. I’ve had to pay attention to food more. Sometimes that’s a pain, but usually I find the whole experience fascinating.

I guess what I’ve learned from all this is that if you’re curious about something, if you want to see if something will improve your life in some way, give it a chance. Switching my diet seemed very overwhelming at first, particularly during the first two weeks. But I set goals and moved forward. Anyone can do that. You can do that. Whatever the change is you want, you can do it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Colin Harrison
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 06:26:50

    Hi Leigh!
    I was given the book of this tv series as a gift- the best veggie recipes ever!
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/River-Cottage-Veg-Every-Day/dp/1408812126
    and here are some of them:
    http://www.channel4.com/4food/recipes/tv-show-recipes/river-cottage-veg-recipes
    Best wishes from Colin

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 13:16:44

    Thanks Colin. They look fabulous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

