Day 30: The 15 Things I Have Learned

15 things I have learned about myself and my practice in the first 30 days of my challenge:

1.It is possible to fall out of wind removing posture. Yes it is.

2. I really can get used to the heat. Most days it does not feel like death.

3. I don’t get to decide which postures will show improvement.

4. Be happy with what is going well in your practice today.

5. Tomorrow is another day, and another practice. It will not be the same as today.

6. Find something that makes you uncomfortable.Do it. Repeat.

7. The front row can be scary. Go anyways.

8. Everyone really is cheering for everyone else in the room. We’re all in this together.

9. Fans are nice but also a distraction. Ask yourself, “Do I really need to be by the fan?”

10. Move your mat. Don’t get stuck in the same spot. Experience your practice from different points in the room. You’ll find new places you love and new places you hate.

11. Always set up in places you hate now and again. It’s good for you. Why? Do it and find out.

12. Backbends really aren’t that bad.

13. Everyone has a posture that is their nemesis. It’s normal.

14. Do the posture that you hate.

15.Listen to others talk about their practice. Share your experiences. We all learn from each other.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bitchingaboutbikram
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 14:51:19

    Absolutely wonderful post. I also can fall out of wind-removing, which made me laugh. I never thought I’d get used to the heat, and it’s really not that bad. I should have started this yoga YEARS ago, but I swore it off due to the temp. So silly now.

    Number 3, UGGGG. Right? So unfair.

    Number 8 is my favorite. Sometimes i feel this even when I’m falling out 10,000 times. I still want to jump up and down and squeal because we’re all in the room struggling and suffering and making ourselves better TOGETHER. But I’m also weird.

    🙂

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jun 02, 2012 @ 16:43:43

      Oh I know! #3 drives me crazy. If I am working hard on a posture then I think it should get better and not some other random one. I guess point #16 should be about acceptance! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

