Day 34: Everyone Face the Wall

Day 34 had an unusual twist to it. We had done a set of standing bow. The instructor, also the studio owner, was giving us tips on how to improve our posture. I have a vague recollection of what she was saying. You know, the yoga brain kicks in after class and my head is a bit fuzzy for awhile.

Anyways, I do remember her saying that we should try to feel the posture. She had recently been at teacher training in Los Angeles.  She was talking about doing standing bow while being in row 15 and nowhere near a mirror. She couldn’t see herself doing the posture, but she had to figure out if everything was positioned just right. Hence the idea of learning how to feel the posture.

Another instructor who was taking the class asked if we could turn around and face the wall for second set. We did. What an interesting idea! I cannot be confident about the quality of my posture on either side. However, I can tell you I held it longer on both sides. I was so focused on feeling the posture that I wasn’t thinking things like:

(a) where is my foot? Oh…there it is.

(b) Is my hip too far out? No I don’t think so. The instructor just walked past me. She would say something if I was out of whack, right?

(c) There is no way I can hold this for much longer.

When I wasn’t looking in the mirror, my mind shifted. I had a renewed focus. I paid far more attention to the stretch in my arm that was out in front of me. I wasn’t thinking about it per say, but I was focused on what it felt like. When I feel out, it was because my body fell out. My mind wasn’t telling me to fall out. It was just time to fall out. I had hit my edge and gone over the side. Finding a way to disrupt the norm was very helpful for me. I wonder what it will bring for standing bow tomorrow (when I assume I will face the mirror in both sets)?

Oh – tomorrow, don’t forget, is advanced class day! Beginnger series from 9:00-10:30 followed by the advanced from 11:00-1:00. Can’t wait to tell y’all all about it!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. bitchingaboutbikram
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 19:01:50

    Can’t wait to hear about the advanced classes!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

