Day 37

Nothing special about Day 37. It was a day. It was a class. The studio was pretty full which I have started to like. Also, since the studio is running a Living Social deal we are getting more new people.  I like having new people. Sometimes they try to run from the room or don’t seem to want to follow the most basic of rules (like no talking), but usually they try really hard. That first class is overwhelming in so many ways. The heat, the humidity, a thousand and one directions being fired at you. You gotta hand it to people who hang in there for the first class AND come back.

I was still sore today if you can believe it. I wasn’t as bad off as I was yesterday, but I still had some kinks to work out of my system. My quads didn’t kill me. I could do awkward and standing bow. I got a few cramps here and there that were not fun (when are they ever fun?). Hopefully tomorrow will be good.

In vegetarian news, I am so excited about the dinner menu for this week! Check out some of what we’ll be having:

(a) grilled polenta with tomato sauce and spicy, grilled olives.

(b) gnocchi with brown butter and sage

(c) white pizza with carmelized onions and vinegar

Here’s a few things to know about how I approach these dishes:

1. I always make polenta from scratch. It’s about as much work as making risotto in terms of stirring, but you don’t have to stir as long.

2. I never make gnocchi from scratch. I buy it!

3. I gave up on making pizza dough from scratch. I’m just ok at it. I buy the dough at the grocery store the night before. It’s not that bad.

I can vouch for the gnocchi dish. I’ve made it several times and it is delish. I’ve never grilled polenta before. We’ll see how it goes! Ultimately, none of these are that difficult.

Tonight, we are visiting the Remedy Diner in Raleigh. I won a gift certificate there though Triangle Meatless Monday. I am getting the buffalo “chicken” burger. It’s soy. I have been missing buffalo wings! I cannot wait to see how it tastes.

I am so loving being a vegetarian for this challenge. I had no idea I would enjoy it so much. Such an adventure.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mark
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 15:10:33

    I want to give thanks to Leigh for inspiration and encouragement. I am the secondary beneficiary of her challenge. She encouraged me to try Bikram more than once every blue moon, and I love it. A few weeks of Bikram has improved my bike riding in many ways. I am joyous, energetic, and peaceful in the saddle; it used to be where I worked out frustration. And returning to vegetarianism has been a treat. I feel much healthier now thanks to her challenge.

    So, thanks to my inspiring, challenging, and encouraging wife. I hope I can do half as much for you.

    Reply

  2. bitchingaboutbikram
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 17:20:11

    Aww, how sweet was Mark’s post?

    As for newcomers, I also think it’s fun to have them in the room. It’s always so exciting to get their reviews once class is over.

    Glad the soreness is getting better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

