Day 39: I Miss Chicken and Other Confessions

For anyone just tuning in, I’ve been doing my challenge as a vegetarian. I eased into it before the challenge began. I started making the transition to vegetarian in February. This gave me time to learn some new meals, think about what to eat, and increase the liklihood of my success.

I have said before that making the switch was pretty easy. That is true. It was a lot easier than I anticipated. However, I really, really miss chicken. I don’t know if I will ever get over myself.

I love, love, love chicken wings and any kind of spicy chicken sandwich. It feels like eternity since I have had these things. One time, I told Mark I didn’t care where we went for dinner because all I wanted was chicken wings. Since I wasn’t going to get chicken wings nothing would make me happy so he might as well just pick a place to eat. I am a joy to live with.

Since the challenge started, I have woken up craving chicken. I have wanted it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I get angry and stomp around when I really want it and know I can’t have it.

Saturday, I thought maybe I had found an acceptable substitute. We went to a restaurant in Raleigh that looked like it had a fantastic vegetarian menu. They had a spicy chicken sandwich with the chicken actually being soy. Sign me up! Oh how I prayed this sandwich would be delicious and help me get over my fondness for chicken.

Well, guess what I learned about myself?

I am not into faux foods. I am not interested in eating soy that is masquerading as chicken. I don’t mind eating a black bean patty – I mean that’s called a black bean burger. It’s not pretending to be a hamburger. In my book, the bean patty is different from the soy disguised to look like chicken. This isn’t meant to be a reflection on where we ate. I bet that if you like soy made up to look like chicken that this dish was amazing.

Anyways, why do I tell you all this? I tell you all this because I want you to know that this challenge is hard, and I am not perfect. I’ve had a lot of great successes and breakthroughs (mentally and physically) with this challenge, but I have my own struggles. I love reading other yoga blogs – Bikram and otherwise – because all of our struggles are different. All of our struggles are also beautiful. It doesn’t matter what your practice looks like, or what challenge you are faced with in life, we are all in this together. And when I read what y’all write, the good and the bad, I always learn from it. And I guess I was just really, really thinking a lot about chicken today (and for the last 39 days) and wanted to say that this vegetarian thing is hard! It has so many positive points, but it is hard! And I struggle with it.

Also, about a week ago, I had a bite of crab rangoon. It was not worth it. I would have been better off getting some crab rangoon from a place I love, sitting in a corner, and just downing it. I could justify my bite of crab by telling you I was at this amazing party surrounded by all this amazing free food from local restaurants, but that doesn’t really justify anything. All it does is let you know that things got really, really hard for me in terms of sticking to the vegetarian thing, someone offered me a crab rangoon, and I lost my gourd and ate it.

And the worst thing about eating the crab rangoon?

It wasn’t chicken. I could have done a much better job of cheating.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bitchingaboutbikram
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 15:26:44

    Wonderful post! Honestly, I can’t believe you’re doing TWO challenges. Doing the Bikram is hard enough without comfort food to come home to!!! You’re doing great. So proud!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

