Day 44: Picking Competition Postures

Let’s talk about the North Carolina regional yoga competition. It’s on Sunday, November 4th at 3:00 in Raleigh. My studio is sponsoring/hosting it. It’s the first NC regional ever.

The rules are simple. I didn’t say doing the postures was simple. Just the rules.

You get 3 minutes to do seven postures. Everyone has to do the same five. I don’t know what order we do them in. But they are: (a) standing head to knee, (b) standing bow, (c) floor bow, (d) rabbit, and (e) the third part of the next to last posture. Sorry I am too lazy to break out my Bikram book and look E up to get an actual name. I get to pick my other two, and they can be any two from the advance series (insert a savassanah joke here).

Today, I reviewed the poster on the wall that has all 84 postures on it with the studio owner. I identified four that I like and would be willing to work on. She suggested a fifth during class. I only need two of course, but I’ll play with these five for awhile and see where it goes. In selecting these, I kept a few things in mind:

(a) Let’s be realistic about what I can do. I am not going to pick something because it is overly fancy and difficult. I probably couldn’t get a very difficult posture ready anyways by November. I wanted to pick postures I believed I could have good form in by the time competition is here. I’m playing to my strengths based on where I am now. In the future (after competition), I may be ready to push myself to a more challenging posture.

(b) I want to like the postures. This is important because I have to work on these postures at home. I will get to the postures in a minute. You should know that I can’t do all of them well, but I like how I feel when I am in them, and I want to do them well.

Also, I am still recovering from my arm injury. So there will be no postures that require me to put weight on my right arm.

In no particular order, here are the postures I will be working on:

1. Mountain/Parvatasana; looks like:

I couldn’t find a good picture. The only thing I have to do that you don’t see here is that I will be standing on my knees and not sitting on my butt.  I can get into locust and push up onto my knees. I have to work on balancing my arms above my head like the guy in the picture.

2. Standing Splits/Dandaymana-Purna-Janusirasana: Could not locate a picture. Could not locate anything about it in a reasonable amount of time. Here’s the basic idea. Start with your legs together. Stand tall. Bend down, put your hands, lets’ say around your right foot/ankle (not sure about hand placement yet). Take your left leg and kick it up so it goes straight up into the air and looks like a standing split. Keep the right knee locked. Keep both knees locked actually. Don’t try this at home. I don’t know how to explain it to you.

3. Vibhaktapada-Pascimottanasana: Also no picture. At this point I have forgotten what this pose looks like. That’s ok. I’m not going to work on all of these tonight.

4. Utthita-Pascimottanasana: No picture available. Also, my brain has forgotten what this looks like.

These are the four that I picked out as possibilities, and I can’t remember two of them. That’s because I worked my butt off in class today.

5. Fish pose: Horrah for a picture!

This was what the studio owner suggested to me today when I was in fixed firm. She thought fixed firm was looking pretty easy for me (it can be). I should be able to do this no problem.

So there you have it. Tomorrow I have to figure out what those other two postures are!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bitchingaboutbikram
    Jun 16, 2012 @ 18:26:59

    This is exciting!

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 16:26:37

    Day 44: Picking Competition… http://t.co/SUQ5QLjaUA #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

