Day 45: Training with Star Trek

I am very excited about participating in the North Carolina regional competition in November. This is something I am doing purely for myself. I look at it not as a competition in the usual sense, but as a way to push myself, deepen my practice, and see what my body can do.

Even though I am not trying to win, I am taking the competition seriously. I do want to do everything to the best of my ability. This means a whole new level of giving it my all. So now, in addition to my daily 90 minute class, I also practice at home in the evenings. I am working on the seven postures that I will be doing for my routine. I also throw in a lot of camels because I was told I need to do a lot of camels. I start with five camels, do some standing head to knee, do some more camels, take a break, and move on. I probably did 15-20 camels last night over a 40 minute period. It’s a living.

Training in the evening is not the same as taking the 90 minute class or going to Fight Club. I can do a few sets and take a little break, then do some more, and so on. My idea of a little break is 1-2 minutes. My current evening routine runs between 30-45 minutes. Do you know what the perfect thing to do is during this time? Watch tv, and specifically watch original Star Trek episodes.

I put all the original Captain Kirk episodes in my netflix cue a month or two ago. I’ve watched some, but not many. I realized that training with Star Trek is the perfect way to get my training done and watch all the episodes. Plus, Star Trek requires limited attention. I love that show, but I can be in and out of it and still understand the plot. Also, I think practicing with the tv on is great. I am learning how to work with distractions. Last night I was in camel when something big went down on another planet. Lots of laser-tag going on and people running around. I didn’t budge. I wanted to look, but I did not. I know that the audience is supposed to be quiet when I do my routine, but let’s be honest. There’s likely to be some sort of distraction going on. Best to learn how to deal with them now.

I also figured out that I should not be trying to get a handle on all five of the postures I wrote about yesterday. Each are good candidates for my routine, but I do not have a good grasp on them.Right now, I feel comfortable in my knowledge about two of them – fish and mountain. So for now, those are the two that I will focus on. Next week I may try my hand at a third. I don’t feel like I need to committ to fish and mountain being in my routine right now. However, I do feel confident that I will be able to do a great job with them by November or sooner. It would be nice to have options though if I can make it happen. We shall see!

Of course the downside to practicing in the evening is that I was sore today, and I did feel it in certain postures. My quads are definitely tired of all this yoga! I’ve got some tight muscles that were not interested in doing camel today. I just did what I could. That’s all this is about. Get up and do what you can.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. loribruner
    Jun 17, 2012 @ 19:44:53

    That is seriously going to be my new motto in life: “Get up and do what you can…” Thinking of you a lot, Leigh.

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    Jun 18, 2012 @ 15:57:40

    Lori, you are the ultimate inspiration for showing us how to get back up there!

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 31, 2015 @ 03:24:55

    Day 45: Training with Star Trek http://t.co/YJreRT0z8D #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

