Day 50: Special Things Happen

It’s Day 50 y’all! I used to think doing 50 days of yoga in a row would have killed me. It didn’t. Amazing. There was a time when I thought I was a hot-shot if I did five days in a row. What was I thinking?

Well, to be clear, I am not thinking I am a hot-shot for doing 50 days in a row. Don’t get me wrong. 50 days is a great accomplishment, and I am proud of it. I am proud that I have hung in there when things got tough (and it did, and it may still get tough between now and the next 16 classes I have left in my challenge). I am proud that I finally did a challenge. But I have learned that while many special things happen to us as we do challenges, I have also learned that we are not special for doing them.

Is something at your studio doing a challenge? Well, most likely that person has his/her own special demons they are dragging around with them. It might be mental, emotional, or physical (or all three if they’re super-lucky!). Today may be a good day, tomorrow so awful you cannot imagine. But each day, those of us doing challenges get up, come to class, and do the class as best as we can. And you know what? Anyone can do that. Even you.

I can already hear people, “Oh. I don’t have time for a challenge!” That is not what I’m talking about. I don’t have time for a challenge during certain points of the year. We all have lives outside of yoga.

What I’m saying is that if you want to do a challenge you can. We all have it in us. It’s not the actual class you have to prepare yourself for. You already know how to take class very well. You have to be prepared to get to know yourself on a deeper level. That’s what the challenge will do to you/for you. It will cause you to look inward at the good and the bad. If you engage with what the challenge presents to you, to the best of your ability, special things will happen.

I wish one of those special things was a magical unicorn that brought me a Captain Kirk robot, but that’s not what happens. I can’t tell you what would happen because it will be unique to you. All I can tell you is that it is worth the time and effort. I would do it all over again – every piece of it – if I could. I would extend it longer if I could. For now, I will simply enjoy the next 16 days and what they will bring.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mark
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 20:20:50

    I did two challenges in the first six months of my practice. I lost 45 lbs. I think I got caught up in the physical changes that I didn’t (or couldn’t) see the mental change. If I can ever get back to practicing, I hope to be able to better observe the changes inside rather than outside. You are inspiring. Continued strength and success!

    “Change is the essential process of all existence.”
    — Spock

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jun 23, 2012 @ 16:09:11

      The weight loss is amazing! The thing about the yoga is that the changes can be so overwhelming it’s hard to realize all of them. I hope you get back to it soon. Love the Spock quote!

      Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 28, 2015 @ 07:03:35

    Day 50: Special Things Happen http://t.co/liTxXvCUlO #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

