Day 59: Crossing Over

Day 59 is here and gone. I’m crossing over into the 60’s tomorrow! Just seven more classes to go and my challenge will be over with. It will be very weird not going to class everyday, but I’ll be on vacation so I think I’ll be occupied.

As I’ve started to near the end I keep coming back to the question of my diet. Before my challenge even started, way back in February, I started to transition to vegetarian eating. Since February, I have only eaten meat four times. It hasn’t always been easy. There have been moments, many moments, when I wanted chicken or a bacon & blue cheese cheeseburger. Such yummy memories.

A year ago, I would have told you that it would be impossible for me to become a vegetarian even for a handful of months. My argument would have been that I loved chicken wings too much to give up. I didn’t want to give them up, and I really believed I was mentally not capable of giving them up.

When I gave up chicken as part of my challenge, I had some tantrums now and then when I was really craving it. I didn’t give in because I knew that my time as a vegetarian was temporary. I could see the end date looming: July 9th I would be free from the dietary¬†constraints I had set for myself in my challenge. I would be free to have some damn chicken.

The question is, do I really want to do that? I certainly haven’t found myself looking forward to eating meat. I haven’t planned any big meat-eating outing.

Not eating meat, eating as a vegetarian, has taught me so much about things I don’t need to eat. Nothing bad has happened to me because I stopped eating meat. In fact, I feel great! Everytime I think about committing to a vegetarian lifestyle I think about a conversation I had with my mother back in February. The idea of not eating meat – on purpose!- seemed to confuse her. She clarified it was just for the challenge. I said that for the moment, yes,it was just something I wanted to do during my challenge. And then she said:

“But you’ll come back when the challenge is over, right?”

It was like I was going to have a far-off adventure with Captain Kirk himself!

Well, I don’t know if I’m coming back. I think I might like where I am for now.

Lately, I find myself pausing and asking myself if I am going to committ to a vegetarian lifestyle

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Penelope
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 00:03:59

    Well, you don’t really need to limit yourself. You can eat a (mostly, or entirely) vegetarian diet without defining it. I stopped eating meat almost entirely in November, but honestly? If some delicious animal product comes across my path, I will eat it. What this amounts to, realistically, is I eat animal flesh about once a month. (For me, this is always seafood – shrimp or salmon. Nothing else tempts me.) There is nothing wrong with being a “vegetarian, but not a strict one” – that way, you don’t need to stress if you ever fail to fit into the vegetarian box. Life is easier, and better because you are eating in a way that is healthy for you. Just take it day by day and eschew meat unless you really, really want it. Win win situation!

    I hope this makes sense…

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jul 02, 2012 @ 11:32:23

      Yeah – that’s a really good suggestion Penelope. It’s a nice way to think of the role of meat in my diet as I come down off this challenge. Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

