Day 63: Dear NailMat, I Love You

When I said I wanted to compete at regionals one of the first things I was told was to get a nailmat. No one cared what brand I got just as long as I had one.

Do you have one?

We have one at my studio that has been hanging on the wall for sale for months. Here’s an idea of what they look like:

Each one of those white disks are filled with little spikes. If you walk up to one and touch it, it will feel very sharp and not at all like something you want to lay on. I know. I touched the one at our studio a few times and wondered who in their right mind would lay down on it.

These mats are typically described as acupressure mats and are supposed to relieve pain anywhere you may have it. Does it work? OMG – yes. Major yes.

I have been using my mat for a good three weeks now. At first, I could maybe last ten minutes on it. Now I do 20-30 each night. Until today, I have used the mat just for the sake of using it. I haven’t been super sore – well, that’s not true I’ll get back to that in a second – since I bought it.

Today, I couldn’t get home from fight club fast enough. As I was driving I could feel my lower  back tighten up and start to hurt. I got home, threw as much gross yoga stuff as I could into the washer, popped two Advil, and raced to the nailmat. As soon as I laid down on it the pain almost disappeared. I stayed on it for 30 minutes and then rolled off it and slept for another hour. When I woke up there was no more back pain.

My take on the nailmat is that it’s fabulous and worth the price. More extensive information can be found here.

So back to the one previous time I was super sore. Generally, I got sore in my lower back particularly after a day at fight club. Last Friday I woke up to find that my butt muscles were very sore. Everyday after fight club is a new experience. I can never be sure what will hurt. So I sat on my mat. Did it help? Yes, it did.

Do you have a nailmat? What do you think of it?

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bitchingaboutbikram
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 17:48:02

    This is the first I’m hearing of nail mats. I am totally getting one.

    Reply

  2. Bridgette
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 13:39:45

    I have been considering this mat for a while and also have seen it in the studio. Cindy was the one who explained it to me. I have lower back pain and have wondered if it would help. I had surgery (L5-S1 disc) 2 years ago and since I have been practicing yoga regularly the past 6 months, I have definitely seen major improvement in pain and rarely have to take meds any more. Wondering if this nail bed would help me out even more…

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Bed of Nails | Bitching About Bikram

Leave a Reply

