Day 64: The Case for Doing a Double

Two days and three more classes left in the challenge (remember I signed myself up for a double on Sunday). So far two people at my studio – who are not teachers- have said they would do the double with me. I know for one of those people it’s her first double ever.

She’ll be great. I hope she’s not worried about it.

The first time I ever did a double, more than a year ago, it was awful. Not physically awful, but mentally awful. I spent the entire first class freaked out that I was going to take a second class later in the day. I spent the second class freaked out that I was taking a second class.  Nothing physically bad happened. It was all in my head.

The message: If you are properly hydrated and fed, you can do two classes in one day just fine. Don’t let your brain stop you.

And if you have never done a double before I strongly encourage you to do so. My recommendation is to give yourself space between the first and second class. On Sunday, I am taking the 9:00 and 3:00. That’s a good amount of space. I wouldn’t do another class before 3:00.

Why do a double?

Well, the answer is not to torture yourself. In the second class, you will be amazed at what your body can do. It won’t be anything at all like the first class you took. I honestly think I should start working more doubles into my regular yoga schedule now that the challenge is winding down. But that’s a competition thing. For a non-competitor, I would say do it for the benefit of seeing how your body is different in the second class. Do it because you can. Do it because it’s tough (either mentally or physically). Just doing one double will give you some new insights into your practice.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bitchingaboutbikram
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 15:50:56

    “I spent the entire first class freaked out that I was going to take a second class later in the day. I spent the second class freaked out that I was taking a second class. Nothing physically bad happened. It was all in my head.”

    This is totally me. This is why I haven’t done a double yet. So glad to know it’s not just me…

    Also: YOU ROCK!

    Reply

  2. Brenna
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 20:10:47

    A few weeks back, you mentioned a yoga towel mat from Marshalls – what kind/brand did you find and do you like it? Brenna

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jul 07, 2012 @ 06:18:57

      I don’t recall that.I have a Breathe Mat. I have two. The first I ordered online. I don’t remember where. It’s over a year old. The second I bought at the studio. For Bikram yoga, I recommend them. They are an awesome combination of a mat/towel.

      Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 07, 2014 @ 22:41:51

    Day 64: The Case for Doing a Double http://t.co/Sp4QkwPK6Y #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

