Day 66: Did I Really Just Do That?

It’s been 66 days of yoga. They have come and gone. I learned a lot from this challenge, but here are some sticking points to end it on:

1. Set Your Intention. At the end of a class, it is common for an instructor to say,”Set your intention to come back soon.” This challenge taught me how important setting intentions are. For example, I set my intention over a week ago to do a double on the last day of my challenge. When I left the studio after the first class today, I thought, “It’s a good thing I already said I would do a double. Otherwise there is no way I would come back.” Set your intention to go to class. Be reasonable with yourself, but do no be afraid to push yourself.

2. The Days Will Come and Go. 66 days seemed like a long time back when I was on day 5. The truth is, time will pass no matter what. These 66 days were gonna happen. Might as well happen with the yoga.

3. Let it Happen. The day will bring what the day will bring. Class will be whatever class will be. The yoga hole will get you whenever it knows you need to spend time in it.

4. No Expectations. Just don’t have them. My first class today was not great, but my second class was amazing. Just go with the flow and try to live in the moment. My challenge taught me this over and over again.

Today’s Double

I am so glad I decided to do a double to end my challenge. For me, it was a nice way to end it. My 9:00 class didn’t go great. It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t great. When I started the second class at 3:00 I could tell from the start that I was going to fly through it, and I did!

The best part was standing head to knee. It was a little over a year ago that I was able to kick out and lock my left leg in standing head to knee. However, I struggled to get my head on my knee. Oh, every now and then it would happen for a second. During the challenge I was getting better and better with it. It’s a competition posture so I have been doing extra work on it outside of class.

Then came my second class of the day. First set, second side. Remember, in the first set this posture lasts one minute. Here’s the first thing to know about the first set with kicking out my left leg: I never fell out. In fact, I think I held it for longer than a minute.

I kicked out. I got my head on my knee. And then I held it. And I held it. And I freaking held it. I was in some strange yoga zone. At some point, the instructor said something like, “If you want to see what a beautiful standing head to knee looks like, look at Leigh.” And I am pretty sure everyone came out and stared at me. And I still held it. Then I finally came out.

Standing head to knee has always been my absolute favorite posture since the very beginning. I have always wanted to have this moment. I ended my challenge on this moment. Of course I did do the rest of class. You all know what I mean! It was an amazing way to go out.

Tomorrow will be strange. No yoga. But I will pack my nailmat with me. I will be doing camels each day. I will be practicing the competition postures here and there. I hope to be back in time for class Friday afternoon.

To sum it all up:

In 66 days of yoga I did….

67 beginning classes

5 fight club sessions

One major kick-ass standing head to knee posture

I can see halfway down the wall when we do the first backbend

Worst days were 8, 22, and 56

Best days: All of them including 8, 22, and 56

These 66 days have been the best gift I have ever given myself. Thank you for joining in with me. See you all here on the 14th for more Bikram Yoga adventures!

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. OlgaSantoTomásMonroe
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 19:09:07

    I love the ‘sticking points’; especially—The Days Will Come and Go. Might as well happen with the yoga. THIS IS MY LIFELINE!!!

    Also, No Expectations. Just go with the flow and try to live in the moment. I STRIVE FOR THIS!!

    Thank you for your insights, experience and marvelous writing!!!

    Reply

  2. bitchingaboutbikram
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 19:27:56

    You are amazing! Look at what you’ve accomplished. It’s been wonderful to watch your journey the last 2 months – thank you for posting.

    So proud of you!

    Reply

  3. Bikram Yoga Vancouver
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 16:07:34

    Love reading about your journey! One of our students just hit 100 days. We’re always so proud of how hard Bikram Yoga students push themselves in and out of the hot room!

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 13:39:09

    Day 66: Did I Really Just Do That? http://t.co/ePGBkEl97Q #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 02, 2014 @ 21:59:51

    Day 66: Did I Really Just Do That? http://t.co/ePGBkECKfU #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

