Raw Crunch!

In a million years I would never think it possible, but I am in love with a raw food energy bar. One year ago I would not have even considered trying it. Even if I had tried it, I am positive I would not have enjoyed it. My how times have changed.

I was in Whole Foods last Friday night doing some grocery shopping. I already know what you’re thinking. You’re envious of my exciting life. Actually, having the opportunity to go to Whole Foods on a Friday night is GREAT! Do you know who shops at Whole Foods at 7:00 pm on a Friday? No one! That’s what makes it so GREAT!

Actually there were three of us in the store and, of course, we all wanted to be in the same spot at the same time. While I waited for my go at the section I needed, I noticed, on the very bottom shelf, some raw energy bars. They were almost invisible. Well, why not look at them?

These bars, called Raw Crunch, come in four flavors. I picked chocolate (duh). They are packed with a bunch of stuff I thought I wouldn’t eat like organic pumpkin seeds (I do not like pumpkin. I am also not interested in pumpkin seeds) and organic pecans (never been a fan of the pecan).  However, I was intrigued by the raw concept. Also, there were only 150 calories per bar. A problem I have with most energy bars is that they are loaded up with calories. The bar is 100% uncooked and unprocessed. It has nothing artifical in it either. I bought exactly one bar. I was pretty sure I wasn’t going to like it, but I was interested enough to give it a try.

I came home and informed Mark that I was going to force myself to eat the entire bar for breakfast Saturday morning. I assumed I would not like it. However, I decided I would force it down and see if I could maybe develop a taste for it. I also wanted to see how I performed in class after eating it.

Well surprise, surprise. I LOVED that bar. It was amazingly delicious. It was so yummy I ran out and bought seven more (and Whole Foods sells them for about 3.00 a pop – you can get them through amazon for a slightly cheaper rate). It was also very filling and does well as a food to eat before a Bikram class. Right now, I’m eating them for breakfast. When my schedule changes in a few weeks, I’ll shift back to juice for breakfast and the Raw Crunch for an afternoon, pre-Bikram snack.

Anyways, I know this isn’t a recipe like what I would usually feature. I don’t get anything by recommending this product to you. I’m simply putting my experience with it out there because I think it’s a great thing to look into if you’re trying to find a good snack/light breakfast (I am not a big breakfast eater) and/or you want something great to eat a couple of hours before class.

And while we’re on the topic of raw foods, check out this raw foods/Bikram blog I just learned about called Raw Raw Life.  The author, Carla, is at the very beginning of a 60-Day challenge, and she’s also doing it while eating only raw foods. In fact, she’s eating nothing but raw foods for an entire year! So check her out. She’s got great information about raw foods and, of course, she’s going to have lots to share about her challenge. Let’s send her some love.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. yogininoms
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 17:29:56

    those bars sound really good, though I know I wouldn’t buy them for three dollars each.

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 20:03:19

    agree they are awesome, and yes, a bit expensive. tomorrow I’ll be posting a coupon and a give away for some free bars.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

