Competition Dreams

Oh no. It’s happening. I’m having wacked-out dreams about the regional competition and it’s a good two+ months away. It’s classic stuff. Like I was told that I was next on stage, but all I was wearing was jeans and a t-shirt. I freaked out and went to change clothes. Then someone else told me I had to pull my hair back, but I had nothing to pull my hair back with! I never even made it to the stage.

I did (in my dream) see another fellow student/competitor on stage. She got up and started doing her routine. Another woman jumped on the stage and started doing it with her. Yes, in my dream this kind of behavior was allowed. The judges explained they would be scoring us on how well we could do the postures while we experienced significant distractions. In my dream, the judges got to make up what the distractions looked like as we went along.

Back in the real world, I am pushing myself more to get ready for the competition. Everyday before class I go in and practice my two advance postures (one is mountain, and the other one, well, I don’t know the name). Then I usually practice one of the five required postures. Back at home, I do camels – usually about five every hour or so – and practice 1 or 2 of the five required postures and again practice the advanced. I do five sets of each posture. In cases like standing head to knee, I do five sets each side. Although I will only demonstrate one side in the competition, I need to make sure I am developing both sides.

Add to this:

(a) 30 minutes I spend each night laying on my nail bed (HEAVEN!)

(b) the hot, epsom-salt bath that follows

and

(c) the time I spend sitting in lotus (right now, about 30 minutes each night though I am building to an hour)

and that adds up to a lot of time I spend with this yoga in some form. Did I mention I have been back in class every day since July 28th? I have. I won’t miss a day until August 20th. And even then, I’ll still do all the stuff I outlined except class.

In class I am dying!!!! No joke. You try doing 15-20 sets of anything in the hot room before class and see how you feel by the time triangle rolls around. Everyone else has been in class for 45 minutes, but I’ve been at it for an hour to an hour and fifteen minutes at that point depending on when my pre-yoga class party started.  The last two days I can barely stand upright in tree. Seriously. But I am sticking to it. I am hopeful I will build my stamina which will only pay off later.

I could wait and practice more after class. Some people do. But I am ready for a break at that point. I know I’ll go home and do more so my brain isn’t motivated to stick around. If I show up early my brain lets my body participate with minimum hassle so that’s what I do.

In a moment I’ve got some camels to do, but then it’s off for a facial and maybe a nap during it. Sounds so nice…..

Don’t forget that if you want to be entered into the Raw Crunch drawing to leave me a message in the comments section. I’m doing the drawing first thing Monday morning and will post the winner here.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. yogininoms
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 17:30:49

    How did you get into competitions? I’ve been wondering 🙂

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 17:36:46

    Someone said, “Who wants to be in a compeition?” and I signed up. 🙂 Seriously, my studio is hosting the first NC Regional Championships. We’re connected with USA Yoga. As I understand it, if you place at the regionals you go on to nationals and then from there some will continue on to the international level competition. I don’t know all the exacts on this because I didn’t pay attention (because I’m not planning to go beyond regionals at this point). If you go to the USA yoga site, they have a calendar that lists off competitions. Anyone can show up to regionals, and I’m anyone!

    Reply

  3. Simmm
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 09:19:19

    Wow, what a commitment! Good job!

    PS: A few weeks back I figured out that we have a teacher in common, Katie. I was going to ask you to say to her from me, but then she showed up here in Michigan last week to teach a few classes. What a nice surprise! I’m jealous you’ve got her back this week 😉

    Reply

  4. leighahall
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 20:38:15

    Yeah! I get my Katie back from Michigan. Seriously, she is an excellent teacher and we are very lucky to have her. We miss her terribly when she is gone.

    Reply

  5. Simmm
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 07:47:24

    Yes, she is an excellent teacher! A bunch of us got up for the 7am class just to catch her class (late riser here…). We miss her, too, but we know we have to share 🙂

    Reply

  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 20, 2014 @ 22:05:26

    Competition Dreams http://t.co/bcMoke3IbH #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

