Roasted Ricotta Roma Tomatoes

This week’s vegetarian recipe comes from the Pioneer Woman. It’s Roasted Ricotta Roma Tomatoes.

I landed on this recipe because we had a ton of roma tomatoes growing in our backyard. By the time we made this dish, we had already made and frozen plenty of pasta sauce and had been chopping up tomatoes and pretty much throwing them into every possible thing we could think of. I was overwhelmed by the amount of roma tomatoes we had. So I googled (this is 100% for real), “What do you do with a bunch of roma tomatoes?”

That is how I found the Pioneer Woman’s suggestion. It was such a unique suggestion that I didn’t bother looking at what else came up. Plus, we also had all the herbs we needed for it growing in our backyard too. All I had to buy was ricotta. Score!

The dish is easy to make. I thought it was be a pain in the butt to scoop out the insides of all the tomatoes, but it turned out to be easy. My experience was not as messy as the recipe writer’s was. We have a small compost bucket in our kitchen. I just put it next to me and dumped the tomatoe insides into it as I scopped them out. Little mess to clean up.

We were going to have a small number of tomatoes with a salad for dinner, but we had so many tomatoes that we ended up just having this dish by itself. We had it for two nights in a row. That’s how many tomatoes we had (and we had tomatoes left over). You can’t save this dish. Well, you could try if you want but we didn’t think it would work out too well. I just made it both nights from scratch. It’s simple and easy to make. It’s a great dish if you don’t have a lot of time. It requires some advance planning, but once you have it set in your head it’s smooth sailing.

A couple of things we did differently:

1. I used a spoon to scoop out the tomatoes. Worked like a charm.

2. We used store bought breadcrumbs for our topping. We already owned them so might as well use them! They worked fine. I think if you made your own breadcrumbs it would taste amazing. I am usually not a make my own breadcrumbs kind of girl, but in this dish I think I would taste the difference.

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

