Drink Your Coke!

A few days ago, I had lunch with someone who knew nothing of my yoga business. Don’t worry, I got around to explaining it. In discussing yoga, our talk turned to diet, and I mentioned being a vegetarian. I also explained that I had some bad dietary habits – such as the diet coke I was drinking at that very moment. I said coke was my next big step. I had just started week one of cutting back on it at home (I was actually suceessful at cutting back). My first step was to eliminate coke from my house but still allow myself to drink it when I was at a restaurant. That seemed like a good goal to me because I didn’t start freaking out at the thought of never having coke again.

My lunchtime companion noted that it was probably ok if I continued to drank coke and didn’t even think about giving it up. The logic was that since I practice yoga all the time and am a vegetarian, it was ok to have this one bad habit.

Is it?

I used to think so. I used to think that given everything else I was doing it was fine, no I was entitled, to drink all this coke. But I don’t have blinders on. I know it’s bad, really bad, for me to drink this stuff. I know that yoga and good eating habits do not entitle me to fill my swimming pool up with coke and drink it all (YUM! I am an addict). I also know that anything that gets me this addicted is so bad I can’t even imagine how bad it is and all the bad things it is doing.

So I’m coming off of it.

Last week I bought three six packs of coke. I buy the plastic bottles that are about 17 ounces each. I normally would consume four six packs (24 cokes or about 408 ounces) just at home.  That is not counting anything I drank outside of the house. I pulled out two sodas each day to drink. The rest I left in the basement. I always drink one first thing in the morning. The second can come at any point in the day. I still drank coke when I was out to eat – which happened maybe twice. The point is, I’m cutting back inside the house. I have to start somewhere. So let’s just pick a place and start, ok?

I still have four cokes left over from my trip to the store last week. How cool is that? And so far, no major withdrawls or side effects that I can tell.

Since this is going so well, I probably need to pop down to one coke a day, and I don’t want to. I want to just stay in my little safety spot of two cokes a day. This is not because I’m worried about getting a headache or anything if I cut back. It’s simply because I believe I will miss drinking my 18 tons of soda. I am the one who initiated this change and yet I am the one who is trying to slow it down. We are our own worst enemey at times aren’t we?

Also, how much is this sounding like what goes on in the yoga room? I could go back through this post and tweak it and it would fall in line with battles we all have with our practice. I’m not going to do that. Just pointing it out.

I am curious to know what will happen to my practice when I stop drinking soda. If anyone out there has experience with that, please tell me what it did for you!

I’ll go down to one bottle a day starting Sunday. I swear.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Penelope
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 22:29:43

    Well, if it makes you feel any better, apparently Bikram himself drinks Coke like it’s going out of style, so you are probably okay with only 2 a day.

    Reply

  2. Lisa Jones
    Sep 06, 2012 @ 07:34:06

    I think it’s great that you are trying to kick the habit! When I stopped drinking sodas, I replaced it with sparkling water with a little lemon. Totally did the trick for satisfying my need for something cold and bubbly. Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

