Fried Eggplant and Yummy, Yummy Sides!

Mark and I have been sad because we don’t like eggplant. Between the two of us, we have tried it a number of ways over the years. A few years ago I grilled it and served it with some kind of  homemade sauce. We declared it to be tolerable but noth worth eating again.

I really, really, really want to like eggplant. It is so pretty. I just want to eat it up.  I have wanted to like it since before I was a vegetarian, and honestly I had pretty much given up hope.

But hope is back, and it is delicious.

Hope for liking eggplant came back into our lives in July when we were in West Virginia. Yes, of all the places in the world it was a restaurant in West Virgina that helped us find a way to love eggplant. In the off-chance that you happen to find yourself in Fayetteville, West Virgina, I highly recommend a trip to the Secret Sandwich Society for a meal (and specifically their eggplant sandwich).

If you live in the southeastern United Stated AND you enjoy whitewater rafting, you have a good chance of ending up here. This is the part of the state where you go to raft the New or Gauley river. Interested in what I’m going to be doing next weekend? Check out this great site that goes over every rapid in the lower and upper Gauley during Gauley season (yes, the Gauley has it’s own season for rafting it). I’m only doing the lower. There’s plenty of entertaining video to watch.

Back to eggplant. When we were at the Secret Sandwich Society, Mark decided to give their Fillmore sandwich a go. It has fried eggplant and cherry peppers. The result? He LOVED it. I tried it and LOVED it. We realized we loved fried eggplant particularly if it had some peppers to go along with it. And I am sure we will be eating there again when we are back in town to raft.

This last week, Mark embarked on making fried eggplant sandwiches for us. The result? Delicious.

Fried Eggplant Sandwich with Roasted Green Beans

As you can see, we also had roasted green beans to go with it. What made the sandwich extra good was the peppers. Mark chopped up and pickled some peppers the night before. I thought to add some left over goat cheese (heaven). I could not stop raving about how wonderful it was. We made it again the second night. This time we were out of green beans. I had a recipe for smoky parsnip crisps that I had just found. They turned out to be a divine match with the sandwich. Our second night looked like this:

Fried Eggplant Sandwich with Smoky Parsnip Fries

Why did no one ever tell me that being a vegetarian was so awesomely delicious? Seriously. You do not need anything to dip the parsnip crisps in. The recipe says that if you have leftovers they can be stored in a ziplock bag and will keep their crispness for about five days. I can’t comment on this. We had no leftovers. Mark enhaled the fries.

I don’t have an exact recipe to share for the fried eggplant. Mark seemed to just know what he is doing, but they are easy to find online if you goggle it.  My suggestions for the sandwich:

1. Add some type of pepper to it – pickled or not, but pickled ROCKS!

2. Goat cheese is worth adding

3. Add salad greens or an onion if you’ve got it.

Now, go out there and fry up some eggplant!

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Penelope
    Sep 06, 2012 @ 21:11:38

    That does sound delicious. But then I have always loved eggplant. And you are right about vegetarian eating. I find it much yummier than meat and cannot imagine going back. (and to think that stopping eating meat seemed so hard before it happened, eh?)

    Reply

  2. mrcenterfield
    Sep 07, 2012 @ 06:46:05

    I wrote about it as well this week. I listed the process, not quite a recipe, but close in my blog post – http://howitgotonmyplate.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 06:42:56

    Fried Eggplant and Yummy,… http://t.co/jzfC8Q9TVB #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

