That’s a Class II Yoga Hole

I realized something last Friday right before I went rafting, and it was this:

The Yoga Hole: A big swirling vortex of no fun.

I was back in a yoga hole.

I figured out I was in a yoga hole because my Friday class was only slightly better than the crappy class I had the day before. But I also realized something – not all yoga holes are created equal. They are in fact, similar to what one experiences when whitewater rafting.

I found a nice explanation of whiterwater classification. Here’s the general breakdown:

Class I: Did the water move? I thought I felt something. Huh. Nevermind.

Class II: That felt a bit bumpy. No, wait. It’s over. Nevermind.

Class III: These waves are fun. Wait! Is that a hydraulic? Crap. Now I’m swimming. I’m ok. That was just annoying. Drank a lot of water.

Class IV: I will lay down on the bottom of this raft and stop paddling before I launch into those waves and go for a swim.

Class V: I am going to use all my psychic powers to will this raft to stay upright and my body to stay in it. I suggest you do the same.

Now, let’s apply these classifications to yoga:

Class I: I feel queasy. No. I farted. Just gas. Do you think anyone around me noticed?

Class II: The first few postures were great. The next stunk, but then I had some more that were great. Then I wanted to quit. Now I’m good.

Class III: This class sucks. I can stay upright, but do I have to do the postures?

Class IV: Oh great. A visit from my friend: Rolling Black Fog of Death. Nice to see you. Keeping on rolling please.

Class V: I will lay in savassanah and explain to myself how I am not going to actually throw up. Is it gas? Nope. Better not try to fart. Could get more than I bargained for.  Oh, and the clock is moving backwards.

While Class I, II, and III are usually not lengthy yoga holes (think one-two classes or parts of them), Classes IV and V can go on for several days. I’ve been in them all at some point. There is no trick. Like a rapid, you have to ride it out. Pay attention to what you’re doing and where you’re headed and you might make it easier on yourself.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 10 More Days of Streaking « My Bikram Yoga Life
  2. Trackback: Bits & Pieces From the Last 10 Days « My Bikram Yoga Life
  3. Trackback: VC Day 13: I’m a Salsa Fresh Girl « My Bikram Yoga Life
  4. Trackback: A Different Kind of Challenge | My Bikram Yoga Life
  5. Trackback: The Yoga Ship Continues to Surf the Waves | My Bikram Yoga Life
  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 14, 2014 @ 03:00:07

    That’s a Class II Yoga Hole http://t.co/iVU7PQW7E8 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

