It’s Camel Time!

I’ve mentioned already that during Joseph’s seminar last Saturday I had to do four sets of camel. This story is short, but it comes with a funny picture so it gets its own post.

Basically, we talked about every posture as we did them and often Joseph or another student would do a demonstration. The demonstration didn’t always mean the posture was perfect. It was just an opportunity to learn more about the form and how to get into it.

We get to camel and do the first set. Joseph asks one of the instructors to come up for a demo, and then he asks me. Now, the instructor I get. She has a beautiful camel. I don’t know what my camel looks like, but beautiful is probably not the word we would select.

We get up in the front and he has us face each other. I tell him that I don’t understand why I’m up there. Joseph explains that we both have good camels, but that we are in different stages of development with them. We both need different corrections. He thinks this will be a good opportunity to show everyone what two different camels look like. Our directions are to go into camel, and then he will start with the corrections.

Like good little students we go back into camel (this is officially my second set as I had done first set with the whole class). Nothing happens.

Then Joseph asks the studio owner if she wants to take a picture. She does. Hurry up! I’m going to pass out here. Well, not really, but holding camel is hard for me.

I hear lots of laughing, for what I don’t know, and the flash goes off. I announce I’m coming out.

We really don’t know what all the laughing was about except some sort of funny picture was taken. But no time for that! On to the corrections.

Here I go back into camel again for officially the third time in five minutes. Joseph was nice though. He gave me my corrections first (push my hips forward more) and then let me come out. The poor instructor had to hold during the time I received my corrections plus while she received her’s. Then she came out and the entire class did second set which was now officially my fourth set.

So what was so funny back when the picture was being taken? Look for yourself:

There we are busting our butts in camel and my Yoga Boyfriend is posing for pictures! That’s ok. I have to forgive him because this is the best picture EVER.

See that yellow mat behind me? That’s MY mat. That’s where I spent 3 hours and 40 minutes on Saturday. See the podium? See Joseph? That’s how close I was. When I said he literally just leaned over and tweaked my postures now and then I wasn’t kidding.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Penelope
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 19:06:06

    Your camel is lovely, and that photo is priceless. And I love your yoga top!

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 16, 2014 @ 15:15:22

    It’s Camel Time! http://t.co/rH0SVWnLdo #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

