An Intervention May Be in Order

I had a long day on Friday. I had to leave my house around 8:00 to travel somewhere in-state with a group of people from work. We met up in a parking lot, piled into a van, and rode together.  Our schedule said that we would be returning to the parking lot between 3:30-3:45. That gave me just enough time to make it to the 4:30 Bikram class – the last class of the day on Friday.

I knew I couldn’t count on the schedule being 100% accurate so I made sure I was ready. My water bottle was in the car ready to go. I wore my yoga clothes ALL day. Don’t worry. I had a dress on over them. But yes, I did run around in my yoga clothes all day. My thought was that if I arrived to class at the last minute I could just pull off my dress and be ready to go. It was an excellent idea. Mark noted it might be time for a yoga intervention.

I knew it would take close to an hour for us to get back to my car at the end of the day. I started getting a bit twitchy at 2:45 when we hadn’t left yet. Then it was 3:00 and we were sort of moving out the door. Then I had to wait while someone made a phone call. It was nearly 3:15 when we pulled out.

Oh my God. I am not going to make it.

Since about 2:30 I had been telling myself to stay calm and remain in the moment. If I didn’t make it to class it wouldn’t be the end of the world. I should enjoy my current space. Goodness I tried to buy into those thoughts. I really did. But I got twitchy.

Things I suppressed saying on the ride home:

(a) NO! No one wants to stop for drinks. They didn’t bring their water with them. It’s their problem. Drive the &%$#@^ van back to my car. I am so going to miss class.

(b) Oh my God. Drive faster.

(c) You can turn. You are clear. You are clear. (actually I said that out loud a couple of times.)

(d) Less yaking and move driving faster.

(e) For the love of God. Pass that guy. Why are we staying behind him when we can pass and drive faster!

As we pulled into the parking lot (at 4:00 and I am no where near the studio!) I announced I would be immediately sprinting from the van to the car to make class. Have a nice weekend everyone! Gotta go!

I then ripped into traffic and thanked God for the three years I lived in Houston, Texas.

Living in Houston meant I had some skills, some of them not very polite ones, for getting around in traffic. I almost never use them anymore, but yesterday I pulled them all out. For example, yes, I may be driving in an exit only lane but that’s just because all the other lanes are slowed down. I’ll cut someone off before the lane actually exits and now I’m farther up! It works because people here don’t seem to be doing this on a regular basis. I was such a jerk.

At 4:20 I called the studio. I told the instructor I was coming, but I was going to come in right at the wire or maybe two minutes late. Would she let me in to class two minutes late? I swear to God I’ll lock the door behind me.

I could hear her hesitate. She wasn’t sure. But I knew I was coming in. I had spent all day sitting around in a van and in a chair. I needed to take class. I was so stiff.

“I have my yoga clothes on under my dress,” I said. “I can literally walk right into class in a second. I swear I know how to lock up. I swear.”

I really should just go ahead and get a job at the studio at this point. I know how to lock up. I know how to get the laundry out of the dryer. I have 15,000 yoga outfits. I just need to learn the dialogue. You know what’s holding me back? I don’t want to clean the mirrors. 🙂

She gave in which was good because then I didn’t have to bust through a locked door to take class.

I walked through the door at 4:28. For anyone who lives in my area, this means I made it from Chapel Hill to Raleigh in 28 minutes in traffic. That’s a serious skill.

I hate coming to class two minutes before it starts. There are people who do this all the time like it’s no big thing, but I can’t stand it. I am not relaxed. I did not get to do my usual warm-up before class.

A yoga buddy greeted me in the hall and had been kind enough to put my mat down for me. It was in the middle of the room. I moved it next to her up at the front. I almost had to stand in the mirror crack, but I was so thankful to have made class I literally did not care. Class in a mirror crack is better than no class. Remember that.

 

 

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bitchingaboutbikram
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 08:15:27

    I can’t believe you made it to that class!!! (I also can’t believe you wore your yoga clothes all day, ha!)

    All very impressive.

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 14:59:04

    Not only did I wear them all day, but I’d do it again! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Christa Provenzano
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 05:37:26

    Maybe this had something to do with that dream I had about you!!

    Reply

  4. Simmm
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 11:08:37

    This is a classic, Leigh! Hope you had a good class even though you had to rush there 🙂

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Retro Throwback: An Intervention May Be in Order | My Bikram Yoga Life
  6. Trackback: Retro Throwback: Joseph’s Tip #2: Building Strength | My Bikram Yoga Life
  7. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 05, 2014 @ 18:28:38

    An Intervention May Be in Order http://t.co/MVg64XuxSw #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

