One Week!

We are just one week away from the competition y’all. Where has the time gone? People have started coming up to me in class and asking me if I am excited about the competition. I’m not excited. I’m not nervous. I just am.

Does that make any sense?

An instructor asked me the other day how my training was coming along and how I felt about my postures. I said that I was comfortable with where I was. I was comfortable with my progress. I think that’s all anyone can hope for really.

But, to add some spice to the mix, let me share what happened in Fight Club last Thursday. The studio owner asked me how my mountain pose was coming along. I said, “Well, I’ve already done two good ones, and you weren’t looking. So I think that’s probably it for the day.” That’s the truth. I have only 1-2 good mountain poses in me per day, and they had been done.

She wondered if I could replace mountain with short man. Now, I tried to find a picture or a video of short man but could not. I will try to describe it.

1. Set up in tree pose – any side will do. I like to do this with my left leg raised up in tree so that’s how I’ll discuss it.

2. Bend forward like you are going into toe stand.

3. Put your left knee on the ground. Bring your right foot (the back part of it) around so it’s in where your knee is.

4. Put your hands in prayer. Look up.

5. I have no idea how to get out other than falling down.

I strongly recommend you do not try doing short man at home based on my description. It’s not the most dangerous advanced posture you could do, but you could technically get hurt if you flub it up.

So, the owner suggests I try short man, and here’s her rationale: Short man is worth about the same points as mountain, maybe a point less. If I can get all or most of the points for short man then that would be better than doing a crappy mountain and getting few, if any points.

I’m not really following this because I’m not into points. I didn’t make posture decisions based on point value because I don’t care about points. Then she explains that doing a good short man vs. a crappy mountain could be the difference in placing or not placing.

“I’m not going to place,” I said to her.

She explained that yes, there was the possibility I could place. Any of us really had the potential to place.

Ok, let me put it another way, “I don’t want to place.”

I don’t know how one ends up at the national competition in New York. I know if you’re first place, you qualify. But is it first and second? First-Third? I don’t know. I didn’t make it my business to know because I knew I wasn’t going. I better not go. I don’t want that kind of pressure in my life right now.

But, she does make a good point about doing a good short man so I’m working on it. At first I couldn’t hold myself up with my hands in prayer. But now I can (after just two days of practicing it!). I have to do 2-3 to get warmed up, and then I’m pretty good. I need someone to show me how to get out of it. I think I’ll lose points for my current method which is crashing on my butt.

In the meantime, enjoy the video of my Yoga Boyfriend at Nationals before he was named my Yoga Boyfriend Champion.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Penelope
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 13:50:46

    If you *really* don’t care how you place, you should probably stick with mountain. You’ve spent so much time on it, and I think you would regret not trying. That is just my inference from having read about your preparations thus far. Who knows, Sunday may be THE DAY you do a perfect mountain.

    p.s. I totally can’t do short man, like, at ALL. (Darn un-open hips.) The “down knee” always stays so stubbornly forward! So I am pretty impressed that you can actually hold it!

    p.p.s. First and second place go to nationals and third is an alternate. (I don’t compete, I just know people who do and I’m nosy.)

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Oct 30, 2012 @ 11:02:23

      Penelope, that’s very helpful information. It makes me feel better because I am not even going to be an alternate. Whew! Joseph taught us lots of hip openers when he was here. It’s helped a lot in less than a month. I spend about 20-30 minutes a day doing them 4-5 days a week. I’ll try to blog about it.

      Mark, thanks for the well wishes!

      Reply

  2. Mark
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 18:01:12

    BEST OF LUCK TO YOU!!!!

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 27, 2014 @ 15:31:44

    One Week! http://t.co/aTZYvKS7fz #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 29, 2014 @ 05:33:09

    One Week! http://t.co/aTZYvLIUDL #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

