Making Peace with Mountain

I have made peace with mountain pose. No, this does not mean my mountain posture has gotten any better. It’s about the same. I can hold it slightly longer, but I crash out of it every time.

I realized the other day that I LOVE mountain. It was love at first site. Just like it was love at first sight with standing head to knee and standing separate leg stretching pose. I loved those postures from the very beginning, but that doesn’t mean I was any good at them. These were postures that I always did to the best of my ability. If I sat one out I was having a very, very bad day.

But let’s review my progress in them. Standing Separate Leg Stretching Pose:

Sure, I can do this now. But three years ago? Not a chance.

While I loved it to death, I couldn’t come close to touching my forehead on the floor. Not a chance in heck with that folks. My hamstrings were way to tight. It took me a solid year before I did it once. Then I couldn’t do it again for awhile. Now I can do it for the most part unless my hamstrings aren’t interested. Some days I take a short step and purposefully don’t touch just to work on opening up my hamstrings. My arms are still a mess. I can grab my heels but I don’t think my elbows are bent like they need to be.

Standing head to knee? I couldn’t kick out and lock my knee for two years. TWO YEARS! I only started kicking out and locking my knee on my left leg sometime after the first of the year. Then I couldn’t get my head to my knee for months. I couldn’t kick out on my right leg until June, and there are plenty of days when I still can’t. I can sometimes get my head to my right knee, but let’s not count on it happening, ok? Good.

Mountain. I love it like I do these other two. When I first started practicing it regularly (back in June), I was convinced I would have it down by now. How hard could it be? But I didn’t. Some days I couldn’t balance at all. Every day I fell out of it. Sometimes forward. Sometimes backwards. But I figure if I have done mountain 500 times, I have fallen out 498 of those times. I maybe had two times when I came out controlled.

So what happened? I gave up the frustration. I realized that mountain was no different than the other two postures I loved. It will come with time, and that time has not yet arrived. I must accept this because what else can I do? I will still work on it after the competition is over. I will do this because I love it, and I want it to happen. I want to realize it and do it. But now I understand that this could take six months or two years or more. It will come when it comes. I cannot put deadlines on postures. I can only work on them and accept what my body will allow me to do for today.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Penelope
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 00:01:11

    I love this post. love! I can identify with it, too. I really think you need to do mountain this weekend. You love it so much, it is clear from your writing.

    p.s. Mine are camel and standing bow (which I SUCK at, make no mistake.) And crane. I love crane. But fingertips? Seriously???

    Good luck this weekend! I am virtually rooting for you, good energy, all that stuff. Just know, all that preparation, all the hours you put into this, THAT is what it is all about… not, ultimately, the three minutes on stage. Best of luck, regardless, cant wait for the recap. You will do great.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Nov 03, 2012 @ 06:48:37

      Thanks Penelop and Simm. Penelope, I really want to do lifting lotus but fingers are not strong enough to get it good and consistent. There have been times when I have lifted myself way the heck up and surprised myself and lots of days where I don’t budge.

      Reply

  2. Simmm
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 08:28:39

    Best of luck this weekend! Can’t wait to hear about your experience ❤

    I think I also love Standing Separate Head to Knee. My hamstrings are also very tight, but they crave this posture! I think where my hamstrings attach near the butt they are super tight and knotted up and this is one of the postures that really gets into that area.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: A Mountain of Patience | My Bikram Yoga Life

Leave a Reply

