The Yoga Curious

Word is getting out that I have a little, teeny-tiny yoga practice. 🙂 The reaction is interesting. I find that I am slowly but surely becoming a magnet for the yoga curious.

The yoga curious are a group of people from all sorts of backgrounds. They have heard about this thing called yoga in general. None of them have ever seemed to have heard of Bikram yoga specifically. Some of them have taken a few yoga classes of some sort but never really got into it. Many have never taken a yoga class at all. However, they are interested in it. They hear it has some benefits, and they have heard I might know something about it.

I cut to the chase with them. I tell them I practice Bikram, I explain what Bikram is, I see the look of horror on their faces, and then I immediately clarify 1000 times about how they can do it. I tell them I will go to class with them. I will actually rearrange my life if need be to accomodate their schedule so I can attend with them if they want that. I send them the studio information. Most of them I never hear from again.

Sometimes I get an email asking me when I will be going again. I fire off when I intend to go over the period of a week. This usually results in a, “I can’t make any of those times,” response to which I say, “You tell me what works for you, and I’ll see if I can’t make it happen.” This results in no response at all and the individual usually drops out of sight.

I had a yoga curious person approach me in the last couple of weeks. This person started asking me questions about my practice and showed an interest in doing yoga. However, that interest clearly waned (for some reason) when I answered the question, “How many days a week do you practice? One or two?” with “Five. At least five.” The response was a sort of, “Oh. I can’t possibly practice with you because you are so far beyond me if you go five days a week. I am so stiff. I can barely bend at all.”

Well, that’s exactly why you need to go.

I’m not going to drag anyone to yoga. I’m happy to answer questions over and over and over again from the same person. I really am.

If you are a member of the yoga curious crowd, just come on and try it for a month. Not a day, not a week, give it one month of going 3-4 days a week. See what happens. See if it changes you. Scratch your itch.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 22, 2014 @ 18:16:12

    The Yoga Curious http://t.co/aIhE1yhbcd #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

