Interview with a First-Timer

My brother came to visit for Thanksgiving, and of course I wanted to drag him to yoga. Turns out that while he has been interested in trying some form of yoga for awhile he has never taken  a yoga class of any kind in his entire life. He said he was game, and I informed him we would go Thursday and Friday. I’d have made him go more, but he had to go home.

I interviewed him before his first class and then after each one. I thought it would be interesting to see what someone who had never done any yoga before thought of the experience. Here’s a general summary of his thoughts:

1. He said  he had no preconceptions. Having never done yoga, he really didn’t know what to expect.

2. The first class was overwhelming. While he did ok with the heat initially, some of the postures were a bit confusing and the dialogue is a lot to take in. The heat didn’t really get to him until about the last 15-20 minutes.

3. Even though you think everyone’s going to be watching you, it turns out no one is actually interested in what you are doing except the instructor.

3. Taking the second class is key. He said that if anyone wants to get into this yoga you have to go back as soon as possible for the second class. He went back the next day – because that was his only option – but he thought doing a second class within a week of the first was necessary. He wasn’t as overwhelmed the second time, he had an idea of what was going to happen, and while the class was still difficult it became more enjoyable.

One thing I love about my brother is he hates the first breathing exercise. I hate it too.

We had an interesting discussion about what postures he had an inclination to dislike. At first he named a couple, and when I asked why he didn’t like them he said it was because he couldn’t do them. I pointed out that there were postures I couldn’t do much of when I started, but I still enjoyed them and looked forward to improving at them. Point being that you can love postures you can’t go very far in just like you can hate postures you can go deep in.

After the second class though he declared he was not fond of camel. I think he’s not fond of backbending in general. I’m not either. I just put up with it because I know I need it.

At the end of our two day excursion to Bikram, I concluded that the key to a successful Bikram practice is to just go. That’s not new information for any regulars out there, but it’s what I took away from talking to a newbie. My brother compared Bikram to running. He said that sometimes he has great runs and other times he feels like death immediately after he enters the first mile. But he knows to let the bad runs go and to keep on running.  It’s the same thing with Bikram. You have your good, your great, and your really crappy classes. The key is to just keep showing up. In a sense, keep on running.

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christa Provenzano
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 13:12:51

    How awesome that you got to practice with your brother…I sure wish I could my brother to try it! Cudos Leigh!!

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 12:16:06

    It was fun! Miss you at the studio.

    Reply

  3. LSRogers
    Nov 28, 2012 @ 20:03:05

    That is awesome and I enjoyed your brother’s insights! The studio I go to in Hudson has a free yoga weekend after Thanksgiving, so I was able to have 3 people take a class with me. I had to take 3 classes and it was worth it! One person went back with me 2 days later and she is going again this week without me! Another person wanted to go back this week, but we couldn’t make our schedules work, so she is taking another friend with her! The 3rd person left the room after 75 minutes and will never go again. I was so happy to share the yoga and look forward to new yoga buddies.

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 15:38:59

    Interview with a First-Timer http://t.co/o2oSNQBBSb #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 04, 2014 @ 02:08:07

    Interview with a First-Timer http://t.co/QVby1G0kS9 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

