Rantings

I have realized that there are three things that really get my goat in class. I try not to let them bother me when they come up, but they drive me nuts!

First (and these are in no order as they all drive me equally batty) are the people who have to have their spot. You know who you are or you know who they are.  These people set up in the exact same place every time. They will set up on top of you if you have your mat in their spot (I exaggerate only slightly). About a month ago I had set up next to a yoga buddy in an area I don’t tend to frequent. Someone came in and set up directly in front of me in order to get “the spot.” There was no reason for this. There were other places to set the mat up. The room was not packed. If I wanted to see myself I had to be the one to move. The individual couldn’t even be bothered to move slightly right or left.

I was astounded. I looked at my buddy who replied that this person always does this. I suggested that we start putting out mats up there all the time to send a message, but that’s not really sending a message so much as it is starting some sort of childish mat war. I will admit I kinda want to start a mat war just to be annoying.

Second are the people who plunk their mats right down in front of you forcing you to move. This is not always about having a favorite spot so much as it’s about the person has just decided that’s where she/he wants to set up, and I happen to be in the way so to speak. I move over slightly so I can see myself in the mirror, but I have a line. If you come in and plunk down right in front of me – and there are plenty of other options for you – and you force me into the mirror crack I will not move. I will ask you to move. I haven’t had to do this yet. I just discovered my line the other day when I came dangerously close to having to move into the mirror crack. I suppose I could just move to a different side of the room, but why? I’m tired of people not paying attention, or being selfish, or whatever it is that’s going on here. So if you force me into the mirror crack expect a response from me.

All of this stuff about where we place our mats goes out the window when the room is really, really crowded which does not happen that much. I’ll work with you when the room is super crowded. I get that your options reach almost nothing at some point. But when you have options? Don’t be throwing your mess down in such a way that it blocks others from seeing themselves in the mirror. Pay attention to your space.

Finally, I have a water bottle pet peeve. I think this is again an awareness issue. When the room is not crowded, pay attention to where you place your water bottle. It is not helpful to be in cobra and have your gigantic bottle blocking my view of myself in the mirror. Move the bottle out of the way so it doesn’t block my view (or anyone’s) during the floor series. On most days this is a reasonable request. I can tell when it’s not possible to obtain this, and I’ll be happy to deal with it.

Now I feel a bit better. What are your rantings? What drives you bonkers during class? Come on – I know you got’em.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mvberger
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 13:33:31

    There were things that used to bug me in class – grunting, groaning, popping water bottles, and talking, but then I realized it was really about me getting over myself! No one purposely does something to negatively impact my practice. The ONLY person that can do that to me is ME! Everyone comes into the room with baggage & the only thing I can control in the room is me & my practice. This is why I love this room so much – I can shut out everyone & everything!

    Reply

  2. bitchingaboutbikram
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 14:21:04

    OMG, there was this woman who would set up DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF ME no matter where I placed my mat. I could tell, in general, that I didn’t much care for her by the way she would prance around the studio before class. But it was uncanny that even in an uncrowded room she’d line her mat up perfectly right in front of me. Ugh.

    Annnnnd, the water bottle thing? Never even occurred to me!!! I probably do that all the time. Not even on my radar. 🙂

    Reply

  3. loribruner
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 15:40:01

    Dramatic breathing. And people who do acrobatics on their mat before class begins. I get it; you’re a super-advanced yogi, and you want everyone to know you’re totally awesome. Have a cookie.

    Oh…and people who drink Coke in class…;)

    Reply

  4. leela
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 22:20:30

    You said it MV! I feel exactly the same way. Unfortunately, I also feel the exact same way as loribruner. Super competitiveness in class by other yogis can be a distraction for me. I know it makes me stronger but some days I am not always up for it. A lot of it has to do with the studio owner. I think they set the tone for the whole studio. Giving excessive compliments and praise to more advanced students builds competitiveness in the class room and that competitiveness is not always the good kind. Thanks for posting this Leigh. It’s not how we are “supposed to feel” but it is really honest.

    Reply

  5. Simmm
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 12:02:04

    Most people are just so unaware of their surroundings. It drives me nuts while driving more than in the yoga room.

    I have come to the realization that whether things annoy me really has to do with my own attitude that day. If I feel chill and relaxed, I can shrug it all off, but if I’m frustrated/anxious/whatever else…. every little things ticks me off to no end! Proof that it really is more about myself than the other person.

    PS: Being in mirror crack can be helpful too! It can help become aware of imbalances like standing a little crooked even though it “feels straight”.

    Reply

  6. Nicole Rose
    Dec 02, 2012 @ 20:24:02

    I debated posting this because I feel like I see everyone’s point. First to Leigh…there is only one thing that happens in class that derails my focus and that is someone else’s hair on my body :(. I can’t move on without removing it. It’s extremely disturbing if its a ‘special’ hair.

    As for the other comments, I agree it’s more about me and my mood and my tolerance level that day. The only thing that I would like to comment on is Lori’s comment on the acrobatics before class. I don’t consider what I do to be acrobatic, but if I am one of the people that drives you nuts, I am sorry! I know many of us have limited time in the yoga room so we te advantage of the 30 mins before class. For me it’s not about showing off it is about working on postures that are a challenge for me. I love this yoga and the people that come. Namaste.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Retro Throwback: Rantings | My Bikram Yoga Life
  8. Geography Yoga (@geographyoga)
    Jul 22, 2014 @ 05:20:08

    RT @LeighAHall: Rantings http://t.co/Oky8LpswrT #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  9. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 29, 2014 @ 13:35:04

    Rantings http://t.co/SfrQvzgs8a #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

