A Mountainous Discovery

Is mountainous a word? I have no idea, but it fits with what I have to say today. While I still have a few more things to say about my trip to San Diego, I thought I’d take a break from that and tell you about my discovery.

It’s about mountain pose.

Today, I decided to get my butt back in the studio for extra training. You know, for next’s year’s competition. It was myself, one other competitor, and the studio owner. I took the beginner class, then a short break, and then dove right back into training. I took the month of November off from training, and I can tell. As soon as I got home I got on my nail bed and then took a 30 minute nap. The nap part would have been longer if my dogs hadn’t decided to start barking at air.

Anyways – mountain. It was the last thing I worked on today. I told the studio owner that my biggest problem was I couldn’t figure out the problem with my posture. For example, before doing mountain I was working on standing bow. Because I can get into standing bow and see what I am doing, (and hold it), people can see my posture and critique it. I can also see myself and identify things to work on or at least know what where to ask for help. In mountain, I fall out so fast I can’t see myself and figure out what to do.

The owner had me go up into mountain and she tried to take pictures, even if it meant I held out to something with one hand. We looked at my hips, basically we analyzed my posture from the stomach down, and coudn’t see any issues. I have been so focused on getting my hips forward and keeping my core tight and centered. I just couldn’t see what more I could in this area. Neither could she.

Well guess what? The problem may not lie with my middle and bottom half. It might be with my top half.

I went back into mountain, and the owner came behind me and gently placed her fingers on my shoulders. I was able to stay up in the posture and see myself in the mirror. She said that she was hardly doing anything at all and barely holding onto me, and yet the little support I got from her mattered.

That’s when something clicked. “You’re shoulders are rolling back,” she said. Sure enough, they were.

We played with it some. I’d get into mountain. She’s put her hands on my shoulders. I’d focus on my shoulders, she’d let go, and usually I’d fall out. But it started to get better. Once I rolled my shoulders forward a bit too much, and I fell forward instead of my usual backward. Once I had relative success for a little longer than usual.

I have been so focused on my core that I have forgotten there are other body parts involved in this posture. I may now have a bit of a handle on it. And the good news? Mark is perfectly capabale of holding onto my shoulders so I can practice at home.

I don’t know if he’ll see that as good news……:)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 13:58:30

    A Mountainous Discovery http://t.co/f6XpWth5IZ #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Feb 01, 2015 @ 15:32:44

    A Mountainous Discovery http://t.co/hYpxAOAn9c #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

