Things Get Strange on Day 8

The strangest thing happened to me when I was in San Diego. I had already gone to class twice. I woke up on Thursday morning to take the 6:30 am class, and I did not want to go. At all. I don’t mean that I didn’t want to take the 6:30 class. I mean I didn’t want to go to class at all that day.

It’s rare for me to feel like this. Sometimes I am more excited about class than at other times, but on this day I was fighting myself to go. And the worst part was that on Thursday no one went with me. I had no one sitting in the hotel lobby expecting me to show up at the crack of dawn. It was all on me baby.

I got up, dragged myself into the bathroom, and proceeded to eat my Raw Crunch bar in the bathroom (so my rommie could sleep – oh, and she also said, “I can’t believe you’re really going,” as I got up). The entire time I thought about how much I wanted to go back to bed and never, ever go to class.

I made it to the studio. My mood did not improve. I told the instructor I still had jet lag (true) and wandered into the room.

Class began. On the second breath of the first set of the first breathing exercise I wanted to quit. I thought, “These people don’t know me. This instructor doesn’t know me. I could just sit down on the mat right now. I could just sit here for the entire class. I do not want to do this.”

But I know me. And while it would be fine to take a break, I couldn’t do it right then. I didn’t need it right then. I just wanted to so much. I just didn’t want to be in class!

Truth was, I had not slept well in about three days. I was going to bed early (9:00)  because I was tired, but I was waking up at 3:00 and was wide awake at 4:00. It wasn’t making for great classes – especially at 6:30 in the morning.

After eagle I took a break. I sat down during the first set of standing head to knee. The rest of the class is a blur, but I slowly started feeling better.

On the way back to the hotel, I realized that I felt like I was in the middle of a challenge. Then I realized I had done class for awhile without a break. I counted up how many days in a row I had been to class. You know how many? Eight. This class that stunk, that I did not want to go to, was Day 8.

Where have we seen Day 8 before?

How weird is that?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. leela
    Dec 08, 2012 @ 23:25:42

    That’s pretty awesome that you have something to look back on! So, I wonder how you will feel tomorrow?!! How many challenges have you done? Maybe you are subconsciously starting a new one. I think it is great that you found it in you to push past that desire to skip out. Also, did you really eat hotsauce on wheatberries for breakfast? That cracked me up!!!

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    Dec 09, 2012 @ 07:30:19

    leela, I’ve done two challenges. I did 66 days straight last summer. Last January I did a week of doubles. And yes, I really do put hot sauce on wheatberries. It’s yummy!

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 01:00:24

    Things Get Strange on Day 8 http://t.co/QVyULgphNF #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

