Day 21: Does Showing Up Count?

This morning I took class 21/39, and it was miserable. There are any number of reasons it could have been miserable. The most obvious is that it’s my 21st class in a row and a miserable class is bound to come along when you take a bunch of classes in a row. But here’s the interesting thing: I’m wondering if my miserable class was linked to what I had for dinner last night. And by that, I mean I am wondering if it could be tied to cheese consumption.

I love cheese, and I usually eat it by the truckload. However, the last time I had any real significant amount of cheese was last Thursday. I had a cheese quesadilla for lunch. Since then, I had virtually no cheese for 4 1/2 days. I had my grilled (vegan) cheese sandwiches for lunch. I had some cheese on Christmas Eve, but it wasn’t hardly anything like I would normally eat. That’s it.

I wasn’t totally dairy free. I was just nearly cheese free during that time.

Well yesterday, for Christmas dinner, Mark made lasagna. It was fantastic. It was also super cheesy.

After eating it I started to not feel good. In fact, I was worried that I was actually physically sick despite the fact that I had not shown any symptoms of being ill. About an hour later, I felt fine. We wondered if it was the eating of the cheese – and so much cheese – that had done me in. I never knew cheese could make me feel bad.

Then class this morning – yuck. I felt fine when it started but quickly went downhill. Everything seemed 1000 times more difficult than usual. I couldn’t get into postures like normal – and not just one or two but pretty much most of them. I couldn’t help but wonder if this was a reaction from all the cheese I had the night before.

Now, up until this point I was normally eating a lot of cheese and not really noticing if it had an effect on my practice or not. Then, I removed about 95% of it from my meals for a four-ish day period. When I suddenly ate an amount that shouldn’t bother me, it did, and in a big way. I told Mark I may avoid the lasagna tonight. It’s nothing personal. It’s really good.

Anyways, who knows what my issue in class was today. It could have been I would have had a rough class no matter what. It could have been the cheese. All I know is I had a vegan breakfast and lunch, and I feel like my body is back on track.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 08:59:26

    Day 21: Does Showing Up Count? http://t.co/igaafTl4Dg #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. Mark Quast (@do_the_posture)
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:07:42

    Yes it does! “@LeighAHall: Day 21: Does Showing Up Count? http://t.co/KYXSXr5CM2 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag”

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 13, 2014 @ 06:57:49

    Day 21: Does Showing Up Count? http://t.co/o8BRwFnaX4 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

