The Universe Sends Me My Mantra

Some of my postures are getting interesting – seriously interesting.

First – standing-head-to-knee. The deal is that I can kick out on both sides but only reliably get my head to my knee on my left side. On my right, I can kick out but my arms don’t want to bend. I tell them to bend! I visualize them bending, and they go nowhere.

When I got my myofacial massage, I explained the issue to my therapist. He said that the problem was related to my hips. Now, I don’t know why that is. It was my first visit, and a lot of things got discussed that day. All I took away from it was that it was a hip issue.

Well, guess who’s been doing hip openers pretty much every day for the last month? Yep. Me. I have really noticed a difference the last few days in doing my hip openers. My hips are opening up. I am starting to go deeper into the stretches. But today, I got the biggest surprise of all. My arms bent down alongside my right calf muscle during head to knee.

I know! So weird, right? I’ve been kicking out since June on my right side, and my arms won’t bend (they bend on my left side). My massage therapist says it’s connected to my hips. I do hip openers all the time now and suddenly, wham!, my arms bend. It was so crazy I almost fell down.

But I didn’t fall down of course. I didn’t even fall out of the posture. You know why? Because the universe has gifted me with my mantra.

I’ve gotten to the point in head to knee and standing bow (on my left side only) where I sometimes wobble a bit when going into or trying to hold the posture. We’ve all been there. Sometimes you fall out. Sometimes you don’t. I’ve started to become comfortable with the wobble and not let it throw me. Of course there are times I still fall out of these postures (take a class with me and you’ll get to see it!). I use class to push my edge which will result in falling out.

At times instructors will offer a mantra in those two postures to help keep us focused. They’ll say, “If you need a mantra for this posture it’s, ‘Lock the knee, lock the knee, lock the knee.”

That never worked for me though. I am pretty good at locking my knee and keeping it locked.

But a couple of days ago I was gifted with my mantra. I wasn’t trying to find it. It just happened. Came to me out of thin air. And you know what? It is absolutely the most perfect mantra in the world for me. I feel like the universe sent it straight to me. It is a sacred thing.

I’ll share it with you, but don’t expect it to work for you. I think you have to find your own. You are, of course, welcome to try out mine just in case.

Here’s how it went down:

I showed up to the 4:30 class on New Year’s Eve feeling miserable. I didn’t know it yet,  but my period was getting ready to kick in during class (yeah! extra fun for me!). I set up in the third row all the way in a back corner by the door. I had a righteous headache going on. I didn’t want to be around a lot of people. I was a bit dizzy throughout most of the standing series. I just rolled with it.

We get to standing head to knee. I think it was second set. I kicked out, bent my elbows, and started to lower my head to my knee. I wobbled a bit, took a breath, and froze where I was (about halfway to getting my head on my knee).

That’s when the fog in my brain temporarily lifted and my mantra came singing it’s sweet song.

You should really click on the link and watch the video. Of course I’m going to tell you my mantra. But just go watch the video.

Did you watch it?

Ok. Good. Back to the post.

Into my brain came the words, “Weebles wobble, but they don’t fall down!”

I continued on down and got my head to my knee where it stayed for at least a five count. That’s all I remember.

When I came out I realized I had my mantra. A bit silly, yes, but perfectly suited just for me. And the next day in class? You bet I was singing “Weebles wobble, but they don’t fall down!” during head to knee AND standing bow. Of course I still fall out of those postures because I push myself. But when I want to hold it and hang out for a bit? You can bet my mantra works.

Have you found your mantra?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bitchingaboutbikram
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 22:40:58

    I’m not even kidding: I read this post, then went to class, and as I’m in standing head to knee… your mantra pops into my head. It actually helped!!! (and it was so awesomely silly)

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 15:35:42

    Isn’t it just the silliest mantra ever? Glad it helped. 🙂

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 02, 2014 @ 05:10:31

    The Universe Sends Me My Mantra http://t.co/f5207nphVS #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Feb 04, 2015 @ 11:44:53

    The Universe Sends Me My Mantra http://t.co/f5207n7H4k #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

