Joseph’s Tip #5: Watch a Video (EEK!)

Tip #5 is like eating broccoli. I know it’s good for me, but I don’t want to do it. I will do it, but ugh. Here it is:

Record and review a video of your routine.

See what I mean? Great advice. Do you want to watch yourself? I don’t. I can barely watch the video of myself at competition.

Ok. So if you’re comfortable doing this then good for you! Keep on keeping on. For the rest of us, let me start by saying why I agree with Joseph.

First, it will help you critique and improve your routine. Taking pictures can help you analyze your postures too, but seeing how you move in and out of them and flow from one to the next is important. I know I was doing things I was not aware of until someone else pointed them out to me (like swinging my arms between postures). A video will show you how you can improve.

Pictures are also good because you can see yourself still in the posture, but pictures don’t provide you with insight into how you are moving in, out, and across postures. I think there’s a place for both. If video freaks you out, start with pictures. Or maybe just acknowledge that video freaks you out and then do it anyway. This is kinda an only way out is through situation.

Second, a video shows you what you are doing well (or, if you are like me, what you did well at that moment in time). It’s not all about what you need to improve. A video will show you your strengths, and you can celebrate those.

Finally, a video can show you changes over time. For example, I don’t know what my advanced postures will be in my routine this year. However, I could do a video of the core five right now. I could do it again in a month or two. There should be some difference in some of the postures. The videos should, over time, reveal some level of growth even if it’s small.

Again, pictures can also do this but not entirely. For example, I have a great picture of me in mountain pose. I don’t know how the person captured it because I fell out of it as soon as I got in it. The picture speaks more to her abilities as a photographer than it does my ability to hold that posture. A picture won’t show you how long I held the pose and what I did with my body while I was in it. A video will, and a video will show how my ability to hold the posture changes over time. But, I still think both have value.

So now that I’ve thought about it, videos have more good about them than bad. It’s hard though for me to watch myself. I don’t really have a problem with the critiques. I want and need those. I think if someone else watched it for me and told me all about it that’d be great. But that’s not going to give me the full benefit (or you either!). The only part that stinks is watching myself. That’s not a reason to avoid the video. I imagine that with time I’ll just get used to it.

So will you.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Juliana
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 23:10:37

    Video is so helpful. I’ve been taking videos of my routine once a week, every Tuesday afternoon, and it’s an awesome way to see how things are coming along and figure out any changes I need to make. Plus it makes me more confident, because sometimes it looks a lot better than it feels!

    Reply

  2. leighahall
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 07:18:07

    Taking video once a week is a great idea! I hadn’t thought about how it could help with confidence, but you are right. It’s a great way to build confidence. And you’re also right that how we think it looks isn’t always the case. I know my routine at competition didn’t look nearly as awful as I had it in my head. Great points.

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 09, 2014 @ 12:45:29

    Joseph’s Tip #5: Watch a Video (EEK!) http://t.co/SUjiWkhgwJ #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

