Joseph’s Tip #8: It’s the Little Things

We’re at tip #8 today:

Watch videos of your favorite champions for the past years & study their transitions

What I like about this tip is, for me, it is a reminder of how important it is to pay attention to the little things. In this case, transitions. I think of transitions in two ways. First, how a person moves between postures. Second, how a person moves within a posture.

The between postures transition is obvious. How do you get from standing head to knee to standing bow? Or, how do you get from standing bow to floor bow? You want it to look clean, smooth, and easy but with as few movements as possible. Not always as simple as it sounds. I think it requires a lot of focus and concentration. I think it’s easy not to think about how we transition between postures, and yet it’s the routine as a whole (and not just the postures themselves) that is important.

The second way I look at it is how I move within a posture. For example, in standing head to knee, after I get hold of my foot, what happens next? How do I move from point A to B and then to C? I don’t just slam my head on my knee, there are all these little steps in between, and I see those as transitions too.

Watching videos of champions, I would look at how they move within and across postures to get little tips on how to improve. Like anything else, you could probably make a list of all the ways you could improve your routine, but try not to get overwhelmed. For me, it’s about finding 1-2 ways I could improve my transitions. If I try to take on more than that at once, I can’t keep it straight in my head, and I will lose focus when I try to put it into practice.

How do you work on improving your transitions?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 28, 2014 @ 04:16:03

    Joseph’s Tip #8: It’s the… http://t.co/LdKNj1WSl8 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

