Bits & Pieces From the Last 10 Days

I enjoyed blogging about Joseph’s tips, but a lot of things have happened in my practice over the last 10 days! I thought I would use this post to hit the highlights.

No More Streaking!

My 39 days of yoga steaking ended. The last two days were rough – very, very rough. The days leading up to them were a little choppy, and then on Day 38 I fell into the yoga hole. I’m still in the hole too. It started as a Class II, moved into a Class IV, and is back to being a Class II. I’m on the way out is how I see it.

I'm back!!! Did you miss me?

I’m back!!! Did you miss me?

The semester began, and now I’m back to my five day a week plan except I remembered that Monday was Martin Luther King Jr. day – a holiday for the university. I promised myself that when I got tenure I would not work like a mad woman and would take all official holidays. So I get to go to class on Monday morning – yeah!

How Do They Go Back in that Room?

So last Thursday I took the 9:00 am class and was staying after to do drills with some of the other competitors.I was walking down the hall after class and passed by the men’s changing room. Those guys were having a very loud conversation. Guys! We could all hear you!

I walk by and hear the following:

“I do not know how anyone can go back in that room at 11:00.”

“Do you know that sometimes people actually take two classes in one day?”

My response was to laugh, but I managed to stifle it. I really, really wanted to hang out and here more, but I didn’t want to get busted when one of those guys opened the door and came out. Still, it was funny.

Ever Forget Something Important?

Ever show up to a morning class and realize you forgot to put on deodorant? Yeah. Makes for an extra stinky class.

The Vegan Challenge is Coming!!!

Mark and I agreed to eat a vegan diet for 30 days starting on January 26th. I’m going to blog every day for 30 days starting on the 26th. I’ll share what we eat (what we don’t eat!) and how I’m feeling it in the hot room. So stay tuned.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bitchingaboutbikram
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 18:38:22

    I’ve been enjoying the posts on Joseph’s tips! I’m also looking forward to the vegan challenge – I like hearing about what people are eating and how it transfers to the hot room. As of today (and a good blender purchase), I’m back on green smoothies because my diet sucks and I need to step it up!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 07:35:38

      I’ve gotten back on green juice which I’ll touch on when I get into the vegan challenge. Green smoothies are supposed to be excellent!

      Reply

      • Simmm
        Jan 21, 2013 @ 10:04:37

        You should try green smoothies for breakfast, Leigh and bitchingaboutbikram! I’ve been having them for 1.5 years now and it’s the best thing I ever did for my health. Yes, better than Bikram!

        Good thing about green smoothies as opposed to green juice is that the fiber will help fill you up, but at the same time it’s not to heave to have a small smoothie right before class. Also, fiber prevents the blood sugar spike we get when we ingest fructose without fiber.

        Reply

        • leighahall
          Jan 21, 2013 @ 14:15:26

          So what’s a good recipe for a green smoothie?

          Reply

          • Simmm
            Jan 21, 2013 @ 14:48:42

            My fiance’s fave:
            1 mango
            1-2 cups of (frozen) pineapple
            2 bananas
            3-4 packed cups of mixed greens (baby kale, baby spinach, baby chard)
            2-3 cups water

            My fave:
            1 avocado
            2-3 cups of frozen rasp- or mixed berries (watch out though, some stores actually sell sugared frozen berries!)
            3-4 packed handfuls of spinach or mixed greens
            2-3 cups water

            Another one:
            2 bananas
            3 kiwis
            1-2 cups strawberries
            3-4 packed handfuls of mixed greens (I like “Power to the Greens” from Trader Joes)
            2-3 cups water

            These “recipes” are rough estimates of what I put in. Especially with the water it really depends on the water content of the piece of fruit you are using. If you have a smaller blender, start with either 1 banana or half an avocado (instead of 2 bananas or 1 avocado). Those are the fruits that make the smoothie creamy and if you have a small blender you might not be able to put in enough water and it will end up too thick.

            I also have a post on green smoothies on my blog that might help: http://simacrosstheocean.blogspot.com/2011/12/green-smoothies.html

            Hope this helps 🙂

            Reply

  2. Penelope
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 20:42:47

    My sympathies. I’ve been in a yoga hole for two months now and I have NO idea why! I’ve been feeling dizzy in the standing series pretty regularly (usually the standing series is fine for me and the floor is killer). Thankfully I climbed out yesterday for advanced, but I fell back in today. I have no idea what is going on! Oh well. Enjoy your extra day of yoga tomorrow.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 07:36:31

      I had a problem with getting dizzy in class when my potassium levels got a bit low. That’s the onyl thing I can think of. It could be that or something similar.

      Reply

  3. teenieyogini
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 02:01:14

    I love the term “Yoga Hole”! I’ve totally been there! A lot! Those days where you show up for yoga and end up with a 90min nap at 105!

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 28, 2015 @ 11:04:07

    Bits & Pieces From the Last 10 Days http://t.co/W0aoiQJPGW #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

