I Can Stop Anytime I Want To….

I most certainly can stop anytime I want to. I can stop buying yoga clothes. I swear I can. I was cleaning out my closet the other day and noticed how out of control my yoga clothing purchases had gotten. First, my closet has a series of shelves. Each shelf has two bins on it. One of these bins (yeah, just one. that was causing a problem) was dedicated to my yoga clothes.

The clothes had literally been falling out of that bin for months. I was constantly stuffing them back into the container only to have them spill back over again the next day. So I dumped it all out on the floor and started to sort. I separated tops from bottoms. I folded up all the bottoms and got them stacked into the bin in two neat piles. That was all good except there was no room for the tops.

That’s ok. I’ll get Mark to order more bins.

For now, I have my yoga tops laying on the closet floor. It’s actually turning out to be a good system. For example, this morning I wanted to wear shorts that required a black top. Did I have a clean black top? I scanned the floor. No, I did not. What color tops are clean? I again scanned the floor and made a match. Such an awesome system! But probably I should pick the tops up off the floor.

You’d think this experience would clue me in to stop buying clothes, but it did not. I’m kinda thick like that. Also, I just really, really, really love buying yoga clothes.

But I found something else to put my money towards. So starting right now, right this minute, and continuing through August (with one exception that I will explain in a moment), I am not buying ANY more yoga clothes. I already informed the studio owner. She took it well.

What got me to stop? I want to go to the Women’s Retreat in August! There’s no word yet on how much it will cost, but I know I can save 1000.00 between now and then if I stop buying yoga clothes. I’m not joking, and I’m gonna do it. Except, you know, for my one exception which is this –

Don’t you think I need to have one new, super cute outfit to wear at the retreat? Absolutely I do. Or maybe I could wear it TO the retreat (you know, like on the plane). That would be way more interesting.

It won’t be easy seeing new outfits come in to the studio that I can’t purchase, but I know I’ll be glad I saved my money. Anyone out there want to join me in August?

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Simmm
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 14:53:04

    OOooh this is so funny! I was actually going to ask you if you’re going to the Women’s retreat! I really really really want to attend, but it’s a month before my wedding, so I’m not 100% sure yet if I can swing it. (We’re going to have A LOT of people staying with us before our wedding.)

    Reply

  2. Penelope
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 15:20:46

    I went to the women’s retreat last year. It cost about $1100. I enjoyed it, but I doubt I will go this year because I’d prefer to spend the money on a getaway with my husband (which we haven’t been able to do in years). As far as I know, the retreat is being held in the same place this year and the venue was gorgeous. Also, the food was amazing including lots of delicious vegetarian and vegan options. The Texas championships are held directly afterward, so if you want you can stay and watch me place last. Ha ha.

    Oh, by the way, in the swag bag from the retreat, we got a free yoga top from onzie (not all the same). Totally not kidding.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 17:29:23

      Thanks for sharing! Was the yoga room heated? And do you live in Texas? I WAS actually planning on staying for the championships. I thought I’d come in about two days in advance. Day 1 as a travel day and Day 2 to hang out before the retreat started.

      I might have placed last this year at my championships. I asked not to be told where I fell! 🙂

      Reply

      • Penelope
        Jan 21, 2013 @ 20:25:41

        It wasn’t exactly heated – by not exactly I mean that the pavilion was outside, and some of the doors were floor to ceiling sliding glass doors. When the sun came through it did warm up. I’d say the yoga room was maybe in the upper nineties, but we were towel to towel (200+ women) so the humidity was HIGH. It was one of those things where you are thinking when class starts, oh this is not hot enough, but then by the time you are on the floor you’re like, what was I thinking? I’m dying! Also, I don’t know if you have ever taken class from Rajashree or Emmy, but they are notorious for holding the poses forEVER. (Actually, as a side note, if I went again, it would be just to take class from Rajashree. Very impressed with her.)

        The only time the less-heat was kind of a disadvantage was during advanced. Also, the advanced class was in the afternoon and not directly after the beginner class. I don’t know if they plan on changing that this year.

        Let me know if you have more questions. Oh, and the $1100 I mentioned was if you don’t share a room, it is about a hundred less if you do. It was definitely worth it and I think you will have a great time. The area is beautiful.

        Yes I do live in Texas! Like I said, I doubt I will go to the whole retreat, but I plan to be at the competition, so do let me know closer to the time if you go. I shall need to reveal my secret identity! Ha. Oh, and I think you will really enjoy the championships- TX has a pretty deep field and it is a lot of fun to watch.

        Reply

  3. bitchingaboutbikram
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 19:10:49

    omg! I totally want to go!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Think before you buy! « The Green Dandelion
  5. Trackback: Hand Over ALL Your Free Food « My Bikram Yoga Life
  6. Trackback: Retro Throwback: I Can Stop Anytime I Want To | My Bikram Yoga Life
  7. Trackback: Favorite Things: Pure Yogi | My Bikram Yoga Life
  8. Trackback: Why I Love Yogabela | My Bikram Yoga Life
  9. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 30, 2014 @ 19:48:05

    I Can Stop Anytime I Want To…. http://t.co/pZq6mi1Xjs #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  10. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 04:19:52

    I Can Stop Anytime I Want To…. http://t.co/9KAskqhrHb #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

