Hand Over ALL Your Free Food

Thursday night I went grocery shopping. This was an important, landmark event because Saturday the 26th marks the first day of our 30 day vegan challenge! Mark and I sat down Wednesday and planned out our menu for the week – our first week being mindfully vegan. I’ll be documenting the challenge each day so I won’t lay out our menu for the week. I will share what is/isn’t working and how that’s translating over to the hot room.

January 26th is kind of a weird day to start a challenge, but that’s what it is. We’re aligning with the PAN network, and that’s when they start for us. Mark is going to their weekly meetings. I am not because it required me to miss yoga for five Saturdays in a row. Unthinkable! I did however sign up for a 30 day vegan challenge here and will be getting additional information as needed.

So this grocery store trip. It went fine except I went crazy in two ways. First, I ran around eating all the free samples. Is that free cheese? Give it to me. What’s this? Looks like some disgusting bacon flavored spread. Whatever. Give it to me. Is that more cheese? Shove it in the mouth please. Good Lord, I will miss eating the free samples at the store. They are easy to pass up when I don’t like them. But when I do? Oh. It’s gonna be hard.

Second, I insisted on bringing home a giant piece of cake (which happened to be smaller than my giant burrito). As I stood looking over the cake slices I realized I did not want cake. I was a little hungry, but not eat a giant piece of cake hungry. I wasn’t actually interested in eating any dessert at all. No matter. There will not be any eating grocery store cake (or anybody’s cake with one exception) for the next 30 days unless I find myself a good vegan baker. So I got some cake, came home, and ate it. Eating that cake was a challenge. I had to take a cake eating break. But eventually I conquered it.

My one cake eating exception (have you noticed how I always create exceptions?) is my dessert party in February. That party has been on my calendar since before I agreed to a vegan challenge, and I am not veganizing it. I thought about veganizing it but determined by efforts would be better spent veganizing my meals. I believe this was the better choice. 🙂

So here we go! 30 days of being vegan are kicking off tomorrow.

For now, I leave you with this awesome dinner idea that can be vegan or not!

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 18:10:00

    Last year I stayed at an animal sanctuary, and was vegan while there. We were lucky to have experienced vegan hosts and never felt deprived or anything. They even made southern style biscuits and gravy.

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 02, 2014 @ 01:46:09

    Hand Over ALL Your Free Food http://t.co/xHtClhWO4f #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

