Vegan Challenge: Day 1 & No Camels!

Day One started off a bit different than I had planned. Because of nasty weather, my regular 9:00 Bikram class got cancelled. This left me with the decision of going to the 11:30 or the 3:00. I chose the 11:30, but now I had to adjust my eating to accomodate my class choice. My idea to get up at 7:00 and juice wouldn’t really pan out. I’d probably wipe out during class.

I decided to skip juicing today. Yes, I am sure I could have worked it in, but I just tossed it out the window. I slept in and then just went without food until 9:00 when I had a lovely vegan grilled cheese sandwich. I am completely and totally addicted to vegan grilled cheese sandwiches now. Go figure.

Class was interesting. I was fine having eaten my grilled cheese several hours in advance. However, when I got to the studio I learned my period had started. Yeah (sarcasm). I had already set up in the hottest part of the room when I figured this out, and I contemplated moving since class always seems to be more difficult the first couple of days, but I stayed.

Good Lord was it hot. By the time we got to camel I probably could have gone through three Breathe mats I had sweated so much. I was not looking forward to doing camel at all. I just was not feeling good.

But of course we eventually get to camel. Here’s how the dialogue generally goes:

Come to the top of your mat for camel. Everyone should do this posture together, not before, not after.

I would like to point out that I am able to recite some dialogue out of context from class. I don’t know what to think about that.

Anyways, this is honestly what I heard:

Come to the top of your mat for camel. Everyone should do this posture together, not before, not ever.nocamel

No one else started giggling so I’m pretty sure I was not hearing things correctly. I think it just reflects my wishful state of mind. And for the record, I did not do camel. I felt like total crap. I did sit at the top of my mat and breathe, and I did not take water after second set. However, the next time you are in class I hope you will think of this piece of misheard dialogue and use it to get a good laugh (or justify not doing camel. use it however it suits you best).

Vegan Chicken and Waffles from Fiction Kitchen

Vegan Chicken and Waffles from Fiction Kitchen

Well, back to the vegan challenge. Let’s move on to dinner. We kicked off our vegan challenge dinner by going to a new restaurant in Raleigh called the Fiction Kitchen. This is a vegetarian/ vegan restaurant. They do not serve meat. If you live in the triangle you should go! I don’t care if you eat meat. You will be thoroughly amazed at the dishes. We went last week and then returned today because I had to get the vegan chicken and waffles. They did not disappoint. I followed up with the ganache truffle pie (yes, it’s vegan) for dessert. Today was an excellent day to be a vegan.

Ganache Truffle Pie from Fiction Kitchen

Ganache Truffle Pie from Fiction Kitchen

So let’s break down what I ate today on Day 1/30:

Brunch: Vegan Grilled Cheese Sandwich (used Daiya cheese while I wait for my Heidi Ho cheese to arrive)

Snack: Carrots & Hummus

Dinner: You’ve seen the pictures!

Recommended Vegan Resource: http://vegweb.com/; Vegweb claims to be the world’s largest collection of vegetarian recipes. They also have vegan recipes, and many recipes can easily be turned vegan.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 22:35:59

    NOT EVER! I am cracking up!!!!! I honestly can’t place that line at all. Actually, I can’t come up with a single bit of dialogue after “come to the top-“. After that, my mind is in camel mode… I guess.

    It sounds like vegan day 1 was a success! That’s awesome!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Want Chocolate, Have Kale | My Bikram Yoga Life
  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 19, 2015 @ 13:46:45

    Vegan Challenge: Day 1 & No Camels! http://t.co/4oZHYLhCqv #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

