Vegan Challenge Day 3

No Bikramming occured on Day 3. I work a long day on Mondays (and Wednesdays) to compensate for spending all day at the studio on Thursdays. It’ll be that way until the beginning of May. Begin a vegan however did continue on.

I did get my lazy butt to the juicer this morning. But first I brushed my teeth. Smart move on my part. I had my standard juice which is cucumber, lemon, kale, and ginger. Lunch is always the same right now – vegan grilled cheese. If it changes, I’ll let you know. Otherwise you can assume it.

I teach an evening class on Mondays that runs 5:00-8:00. I normally work from home and then drive in to teach class. I have a habit of stopping off at Chopped Greens. Chopped Greens is a salad place. You pick your lettuce, toppings, and dressing and they mix it all up for you. I love it. It’s also perfect because I can get my salad to go, continue on to class, and eat when I’m ready.

My salad at Chopped Greens has evolved. Before I became a vegetarian it was chick peas, cheddare cheese, bacon, blue cheese, and blue cheese dressing. Yeah, you read that right. I had blue cheese crumbles AND blue cheese dressing. I’m awesome like that.

When I became a vegetarian I dropped the bacon and ended up replacing it with red onions. Red onions were a great replacement because they still provided that nice crunch like bacon had.

Now I’m vegan, and I don’t know what to do.

I had gone in before the challenge and done a test run on making a vegan salad. It worked fine. So I went back in today. Today’s salad was chick peas, olives, red onions, and sun-dried tomato. I went with an olive oil and balsamic vinegar dressing. I later learned that I do not enjoy balsamic vinegar dressing on my salad.

When I was checking out one of the staff asked me how I was doing and I shared I was on my third day of the vegan challenge. She said she couldn’t do it because she loved meat. I said I didn’t miss meat, but I love cheese. She offered me some vegan chili that she had made that day, but I didn’t want to get any. I wasn’t sure when I’d get around to eating. But she was nice and got me a free sample. It was super yummy delicious. She’s gonna have it again next Monday. Go if you’re local!

Our brief exchange got me to thinking about how important it is to be open about my challenge in public. I don’t mean walking around and throwing it in everyone’s face, but just talking about it as it comes up and makes sense. Today, I ended up having a nice little conversation with the owner from one of my favorite places to eat AND I learned how awesome her vegan chili is (and I am very appreciate of the vegan chili).

I eventually get to class and discover I am not a fan of the dressing I selected. Bummer, but no worries! Someone is always bringing in snacks. And sure enough, someone did. The snacks were pita chips, hummus, pimento cheese, jolly ranchers, a bundt cake, and at least three different kinds of goldfish (I’m serious).

I decided I needed a break from the hummus so I went to scoop up some pimento cheese and – OOPS! Pimento cheese is not vegan.

“Dang it! I can’t eat this,” I said.

We had a guest in our class for the first hour today. She asked me why I couldn’t eat it, and again I explained the challenge. Turned out she had done one of these challenges too and had found it difficult. We looked over the snacks on the table, I started reading all the labels, and I learned I was regulated to pita chips and hummus. So that’s what I had. But I had yet another marvelous conversation about being a vegetarian/vegan and what it meant when you tried to eat outside of your house.

Day 4 looks to be pretty easy in terms of eating. I’m not expecting any problems. Day 5 is going to be a juice fast of sorts (breakfast and lunch are juice and then solid food for dinner). Day 6 is going to be tough. Day 6 is on a Thursday, and I love going to the Mexican restaurant next to the studio after advanced and loading up on cheesey goodness. Not this week. Not for awhile. Wish me luck!

Today’s Resource: http://spencersmarket.com/

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mark
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 21:25:26

    I love reading your posts, and I commend you on all the things you are doing to be healthier. Amazing! Continued success!

    Reply

  2. Linda Bartosik
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 22:04:40

    I follow your every post and have been for a year. I have one question – maybe I missed this – why vegan? Is cheese bad? I can see vegetarian and the meat stuff, but why vegan? It seems like a lot of work for no real benefit. Vegetarian makes sense, but vegan? Or is it just the challenge you like and not something it’s actually going to contribute to your health? Cheese is not going to cause your health to demise. Just a thought and a question. I love your posts. You keep me thinking; questioning; and that’s the job of a writer! 🙂

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jan 29, 2013 @ 08:04:36

      Well, cheese really isn’t good for us. I’m sure it wasn’t good in the quantities I was eating it in! 🙂 I stumbled upon this challenge, which is being held at a national level, and thought it would be fun to try. I’m going to blog about your question today because I think it’s a good one that I should spend some time on. Thanks for asking.

      Reply

  3. teenieyogini
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 23:34:15

    I love Mexican after advanced too! But am usually not ready to deal with cheese/dairy. I always go for the burrito with both kinds of beans and tons of veggies.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Vegan Challenge Day 4: Why Do This? « My Bikram Yoga Life
  5. Trackback: Retro Throwback: Vegan Challenge Day 4 | My Bikram Yoga Life
  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 10, 2014 @ 14:48:39

    Vegan Challenge Day 3 http://t.co/jSXk2pqAxS #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

